Parkland, FL- Today, Tuesday, November 20, 2018, The School Board of Broward County, Florida, elected Heather P. Brinkworth (District 3) as Chair and Donna P. Korn (Countywide At-Large, Seat 8) as Vice Chair. The nominations and election took place during the School Board’s Annual Organizational Meeting, following a swearing-in ceremony for newly elected and re-elected School Board members.


Heather P. Brinkworth has served on the School Board since 2014. She is a graduate of Florida Atlantic University, where she received a Bachelor’s degree in English. She is a Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) graduate of Stranahan High School and is former BCPS reading teacher.


Donna P. Korn has served on the School Board since 2011. She earned a Bachelor’s degree in English from Emory University and has completed courses towards a Master’s degree in Urban Education at Florida International University. She is also a BCPS graduate of Western High School and a former BCPS English teacher.

Sign Up for E-News


Five School Board members were sworn in today during a ceremony held at the Dillard Center for the Performing Arts in Fort Lauderdale. Newly elected School Board Member Lori Alhadeff, District 4, joins re-elected School Board Members Donna P. Korn, Countywide At-Large, Seat 8; Ann Murray, District 1; Laurie Rich Levinson, District 6; and Nora Rupert, District 7. 


School Board members serving current terms include, Robin Bartleman, Countywide At-Large, Seat 9; Patricia Good, District 2; Heather P. Brinkworth, District 3; and Dr. Rosalind Osgood, District 5.