Cedar Grove Ambulance and Rescue Squad Installs 2019 Officers

For 81 years, the citizens of the Township of Cedar Grove have had family, friends and neighbors who are there to answer their call for help as volunteers on the Cedar Grove Ambulance and Rescue Squad.  In an age where many towns are turning to full time paid alternatives to cover their emergency medical services needs, the active members of the Cedar Grove Squad continue to give as much of their time as possible to assist fellow townspeople who are in need.  Those members met to celebrate the installation of their 2019 officers recently and highlight the contributions of some of their most active members. Among those pictured, the years of service total over 300. Other members received well deserved recognition as outlined below:

Most calls responded to:

Sign Up for E-News

Doug Giblin

John Bannon

Jim Loosse

Morgan Boutmy


Outgoing Officers: 

Chris Niemiec

Mary Ann Niemiec

Years of Service:

Diane Ferrara 35 years

Mike Hansen 35 years

Christopher Niemiec 30 years

Jim Loosse 35 years

An exceptional duty award was presented to retiring member Doug Giblin, who logged over 700 man hours in 2018 alone, something he was accustomed to doing on a regular basis, serving the community he loves for over 50 years. In addition, the CGARS expressed their appreciation to the Cedar Grove Police Department by recognizing two of their officers, who represent the collective efforts of the department to assist the responding crews in providing a high level of care to those who make the call for help. Sgt. Richard Parisi and Ptl. Raymond Cassella were the recipients of this year’s recognition award. 

Submitted by:  Patricia Lynch, Vice president, CGARS

Complete photo caption:  Officers L to R- Res. Lt. R. Lynch, Ambulance Lt. C. Taylor, Asst Capt. S. Huber, Capt. J. Bannon, Secy. M. Boutmy, Secy R. Hangge, Pres. J. Loosse, VP P. Lynch, Treasurers A. Chadrjian and S. Wood, Trustees, M. Hansen and J. Iuspa.
Also: Faith Taylor 5 yr service award