TRENTON, NJ — The state's self-quarantine travel advisory list now officially includes 39 states and territories, although Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Delaware and New Jersey itself would qualify as well, due to increases in coronavirus cases.

However, the "interconnected nature of the region and mode of transport between New Jersey and the three other qualifying states" makes a 14-day quarantine "not reasonable," said Gov. Phil Murphy in an October 20 press release. 

Murphy also was part of the following joint statement with New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo and Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont: “Our states have worked together successfully in combating this pandemic since the beginning, and we'll continue to do so. The travel advisory was designed to keep our respective states safe, with the understanding that we are a connected region, dependent on each other when it comes to commerce, education and health care. We’re urging all of our residents to avoid unnecessary or nonessential travel between states at this time, but will not subject residents of our states to a quarantine if coming from a neighboring state."

Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Individuals traveling to New Jersey are asked to get tested for the coronavirus and self-quarantine for 14 days if they traveled from these 37 states and two territories: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Please note: Delaware was included in last week's list, as Arizona and Maryland returned this week.

The advisory applies to anyone coming into the Garden State on train, bus, car, airplane or any other method of travel. Officials said areas considered “impacted states” for the virus have a positive COVID-19 test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or have a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

Individuals following voluntary self-quarantine should not leave their hotel or home unless they are attending to a medical matter, or need to acquire food or other essential items. 

The advisory does not apply to individuals:

  • Who passed through a designated state for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
  • Who are passing through New Jersey on a layover for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
  • Who are traveling to New Jersey for business matters that are exempted from the application of the travel advisory.
  • Who are traveling to New Jersey and work in critical infrastructure fields, such as health care and federal, state and local law enforcement. Residents should consult with their employer regarding whether there is industry-specific guidance.

Click here for more information.