Edison Democratic Committee Selects 08820 Candidate Slate

EDISON, NJ – The Edison Democratic Committee convened Wednesday evening at The Pines Manor to select the party's 2015 council slate.

In politics, generally the incumbents receive the endorsement of the party, but however it wasn’t the case this time within the Edison Democratic Organization.

Councilmen Dr. Sudhanshu Prasad and Wayne Mascola apparently fell out of favor within the party. It is speculated it was because Dr. Prasad ran an unsuccessful mayoral campaign against his own party in 2013 with Mascola serving as his campaign manager.

Sign Up for E-News

Each candidate had the opportunity to speak for three minutes to the district delegates in attendance stating their qualifications and reasons why they wanted to serve on the Edison Township Council.

As each ballot was read aloud with check marks next to four names out of the ten possible candidates, two names were almost always heard, “Karabinchak and Lombardi.”

"I’m very pleased about tonight’s voting and I think this team is going to bring Edison forward, we want to work with the administration and we have a lot of things coming up on the agenda, I'm looking forward to working together,”  Councilman Robert Karabinchak said.

“In very pleased that the Edison Democratic Organization has chosen this team to represent the party in primary and general election,’” Council Michael Lombardi added.

As the other eight candidates listened intently for their names, it became all to clear before the final tally that Leonard D. Sendelsky and Ajaykumar Patil were to fill the third and fourth seats respectively.

“I’m very excited to be nominated by the Edison Democratic Committee to represent the party in the coming elections,” Leonard D. Sendelsky said

“I want to thank all the Democratic Party Committeemen who showed up hear and thank you for supporting me,” Ajay Patil said

Edison Democratic Organization Candidates Election Results - *Denotes Incumbents

Robert Karabinchak* 90

Michael Lombardi* 88

Leonard Sendelsky 72

Ajaykumar “Ajay” Patil 50

Ralph Errico 42

Wayne Mascola* 41

William Araujo 38

Dr. Sudhanshu Prasad* 33

Jonathan Teitelbaum 22

Sheila Angalet 9

The 2015 Edison Democratic Organization candidate slate all happen to reside in the same zip code of 08820.

Incumbent Councilman Wayne Mascola and four other candidates were all from South Edison in the 08817 zip code and were not selected.

Edison is primarily divided into three zip codes 08817, South Edison, 08820, North Edison and 08837, East Edison with Metuchen right in the middle.

Edison Township functions under the Mayor-Council form of government in accordance with the Faulkner Act. Under this form of government Edison residents elect seven council members all at-large in partisan elections for four year staggered terms.

Other options under this form of government are non-partisan elections and election by wards or a combination of at-large and wards

The current council has five members from 08820 and one each from 08817 and 08837 zip codes. 08820 makes up an estimated 38 percent of the population but has doubled the amount of representation at 71 percent.

The 2015 Democrat Council Slate of Karabinchak, Lombardi, Sendelsky and Patil all reside in the 08820 zip code. If all four candidates win in November, than 86 percent or 6 out of the 7 council members all reside in North Edison leaving East Edison with one representative and 08817 without representation.

In neighboring Woodbridge of comparable size, the council consists of four members elected at-large and five members elected from each of the township's five wards.The wards allow for representation from each part of town.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News