Press Releases

Former Sussex County Freeholder Susan Zellman Receives Service Award from NJTPA

Pictured from left to right: NJTPA Chairman Matthew Holt, former Sussex County Freeholder Susan Zellman, Sussex County Freeholder Richard A. Vohden, and NJTPA Executive Director Mary K. Murphy. Credits: Photo provided

NEWARK, NJ – The North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority (NJTPA) Board of Trustees today recognized former Sussex County Freeholder Susan Zellman with an award for her 12 years of service on the board at its January Annual Board Meeting.

Freeholder Zellman joined the NJTPA Board after her election to the Sussex County Freeholder Board in 2001. She served as NJTPA Chairman in 2008 and 2009, the first from Sussex County in the NJTPA’s 25 year history. She also served in key executive committee positions at the NJTPA, including Chairman of the Project Prioritization Committee.
During her time with the NJTPA, Freeholder Zellman became known as a champion of complete streets throughout the region. To that end, she initiated a Sussex County Complete Streets Study that is now underway with funding through the NJTPA Subregional Studies Program. With her guidance, the county also made great strides in improving travel safety through six NJTPA High Risk Rural Roads Program projects. 
Freeholder Zellman worked to advance key Sussex County projects including Route 206 improvements in Byram, intersection projects at Routes 23 and 94 in Hamburg and Route 15 and White Lake Road in Sparta, and she supported efforts aimed at restoring the Lackawanna Cutoff.

A resident of Stanhope, Freeholder Zellman previously served as freeholder for 12 years, as chairman of the Stanhope Planning Board, and served on the Sussex County Planning Board, where she was founding chairman of the Sussex County Planning Awards.   She will be retiring in April as the Executive Director of the Housing Partnership, serving Morris, Sussex and Warren Counties.
The NJTPA is the metropolitan planning organization (MPO) for 13 northern New Jersey counties. Under federal legislation, MPOs provide a forum where local officials, public transportation providers and state agency representatives can come together and cooperatively plan to meet the region’s current and future transportation needs.

The NJTPA oversees $1 billion in federal transportation investments annually for a region of 6.6 million people. The Board consists of one local elected official from each of the 13 counties in the region (Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union and Warren), and the cities of Newark and Jersey City. The Board also includes a Governor’s Representative, the Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Transportation, the Executive Director of NJ Transit, the Deputy Executive Director of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, and a Citizen’s Representative appointed by the Governor. Board membership is an uncompensated position.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Like

Sign Up for E-News