HILLSIDE, NJ - At its July 23, 2020 meeting, The Hillside Board of Education voted unanimously to rename two of its Elementary Schools (Calvin Coolidge and George Washington) in honor of two former members of the Hillside Educational community.

Calvin Coolidge School will be renamed Deanna Taylor Academy.  Taylor was a teacher at Calvin Coolidge School, as well as a Program Coordinator for the school district under the leadership of Principal Dr. Ellen Decker until her untimely tragic passing.  Taylor’s swift actions to lure her estranged husband out of the Calvin Coolidge school building can only be thought of as a heroic move that possibly saved her colleagues inside but resulted in her death.  After the passing of Ms. Taylor, the Deanna Taylor Scholarship fund was created in her memory.

George Washington School will be renamed Ola Edwards Community School.  Edwards, a resident of Hillside, served the school district for thirty years.  She served as a Cafeteria Worker before serving in the capacity of School Custodian.  Edwards dedicated her life to the Hillside School Community and its students.  She took tremendous pride and ownership in her job responsibilities.  Her love for children led her to become Foster Mother to 10 children while raising her only child, Tony; all of whom are products of Hillside Public Schools.

Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

School Board President, Ms. Kimberly Cook shared the following statement: “We’re breaking the glass ceiling by honoring two women whose commitment and dedication to the Hillside school district are consistent with the goals and philosophy of the Board of Education.”

Acting Superintendent, Mr. Robert Gregory said “I’m proud to work for a school board that ensures the full diversity of our community is represented and our schools reflect the names of dedicated employees and noble residents who were champions for our students and staff in the Hillside Public Schools.”

Both Renaming Ceremonies will be held on August 2, 2020

Deanna Taylor Academy @ 2:00 PM – Calvin Coolidge School

Ola Edwards Community School @ 3:30 PM – George Washington School