NEWARK, NJ — Len Luciano of West Caldwell took the oath of office to begin his fourth term as a member of the Essex County Board of County Commissioners (formerly Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders) last week.

Luciano represents District 4. He has been a commissioner/freeholder in Essex County since 2011.

Luciano served as a commissioner of the Essex County Utilities Authority from 2007 to 2011 overseeing solid waste removal and recycling throughout the county. Currently employed by the New Jersey Department of Education, he previously worked for Newark Public Schools as a library media specialist.

Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Luciano has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Humanities from Montclair State University, a Master of Arts degree in Liberal Arts from Thomas Edison State College, a New Jersey teaching certification through Rutgers University, and an Educational Specialist degree in Leadership & Administration from Seton Hall University.

District 2 Commissioner Wayne L. Richardson of Newark was unanimously elected president of the Essex County Board of County Commissioners, and District 5 Commissioner Carlos M. Pomares of Bloomfield was unanimously elected vicebpresident, during the Board’s annual Reorganization Meeting held virtually last Wednesday.

Also taking the oath of office prior to the election of officers were commissioners Patricia Sebold, At-Large, of Livingston (10th term); Rufus I. Johnson, At-Large, of Newark (5th term); outgoing Commissioner President Brendan W. Gill of Montclair (4th Term); Robert Mercado, District 1, of Newark (2nd Term); Tyshammie L. Cooper, District 3, of East Orange (2nd Term); and Romaine Graham, At-Large, of Irvington (2nd term).

Richardson is president of Laborers Local 55. In addition, he is a lead organizer for the Laborers Eastern Region Organizing Fund (LEROF) and chairs Newark’s Central Planning Board.

Remarks were made by Governor Phil Murphy, Essex County Executive Joseph N. DiVincenzo, Jr., and Essex County Democratic Party Chairman Leroy Jones.