PATERSON, NJ- Mayor Andre Sayegh swore in seven members of the reestablished Environmental Commission at a City Hall ceremony on Monday.

The members are Sandra Bosque, Rita Gernant, Joseph Fulmore, Sr., Audrey McDowell, Sebastian Mejia, Dawn Briggs-Moody, and Jaimi Rodriguez.

“We are proud today to name our seven Environmental Commission members who are tasked with ramping up our recycling rate and identifying other areas where we can save the City of Paterson money. This will include energy audits and other sustainability efforts. The work of the commission is important to both the present and future of our city.”

Sign Up for E-News

Sayegh, at an August press conference,  pointed to the failure of Mayor Joey Torres to keep the city’s Environmental Commission active and offered his belief that the non-existence of the body is partially to blame for an overall decline in recycling across the city.

Current city statute, the passage of which Sayegh spearheaded eight years ago while serving on the city council also calls for two alternates to be appointed by the city council.