A total of 52 students were inducted into the Millburn High School Peer Leadership Program by Principal Dr. Bill Miron on Monday evening, November 8, 2010.  In order to be selected as a peer leader, students complete an application with written essays, obtain signatures from teachers, and interview for the program.  These peer leaders and their parents also sign a contract committing the student to remain alcohol, tobacco and drug free, and to be a positive role model for peers.
The Millburn High School Peer Leadership Program touched the lives of over 1,000 elementary, middle school and high school students last year.  Activities included Peers for Aids Awareness, which incorporates a visit to every 9th grade health class to discuss the dangers of HIV/AIDS; Cross-Age Teaching, where students visit every 4th grade class to teach drug awareness, refusal and decision making skills and the 9th Grade Mentor Program, designed to address the needs and questions of incoming 9th graders.
In addition to all these activities, the peer leaders also raised funds for the American Cancer Society, and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society during the annual Light the Night walk. They raised funds and purchased holiday gifts for two children from the Division of Youth and family Services (DYFS). At the annual Cram-A Van event they collected over 100 bags of food for a local food bank. They also made and donated over 150 peanut butter and jelly lunches for the Market Street Mission in Morristown and they continue to help local senior citizens with shopping, gardening and snow shoveling.
The 2010-2011 Peer Leadership Program includes students from all four high school grades.  In 12th grade Holly DiClemente, Annie Dolan, Zachary Jacobs, Hannah James, Judith Jansen, Danielle Kohn, Christopher Lawrence, Kayla Lawrence, Jack Paparian, Shweta Raghu, Zack Silver, and Nicole Willens.  11th grade Peer Leaders are Samuel Blumkin, Aliza Caplan, Chelsea Castro, Alexandra Gray, Raymond Holloway, Camille Malonzo, Remy Servis, Jessica Solodkin, Claire Tietze and Zoe Wasserman. In 10th grade, Lyla Bloom, Chloe Chan, Colleen DiStefano, Justin Dower, Dana Ettinger, Jeremy Gelman, Panya Gupta, Fiona Murphy, Meredith Mattlin, Jacqueline O’Neill and Maxwell Sauberman are the new  Leaders. Representing 9th grade are Lily Blumkin, Courtney Brosnan, Alec Farid, Karen Fich, Chase Harrison, Joshua Hochman, Ilana Kamber, Jessica Reedy and Alexandra Russell. This year 9th Grade Mediators is a newly-created branch of the high school program. Members of that group are Nicholas Azulay, Benjamin Brookhim, Julia Clipper, Abigail Diecidue, Maeve Flanagan, Andrew Fitzpatrick, Sarah Leventhal, Tamar Prince, Sally Schmidt  and Cailley Silbert. The 2010-2011 Peer Leader Program Officers are Hannah James, Remy Servis, Jessica Solodkin and Zoe Wasserman. 
The induction included a candle lighting ceremony and the theme of the redwood tree, whose interlocking roots support each other, reminding the peer leaders, “when we stand together…support one another…encourage one another…we become strong together, and like the giant redwoods, we keep growing taller.” Lynn E. Belvedere and Robin J. Herger are the faculty co-advisors for the Peer Leadership Program.