The Summit Volunteer First Aid Squad swore in its new officers and board of trustees for 2013 at its last general meeting.  Mayor Ellen Dickson administered the oath of office and thanked all squad members for their dedication and service to Summit.

The following Squad members will serve as officers for 2013: John Christmann, President; Ken Herr, Treasurer; Mark Koernig, Recording Secretary; and Jane James, Corresponding Secretary.

Squad line officers were also sworn in including John Staunton, Captain; Marco Dimayorca, First Lieutenant; Chris Raymond, Personnel Lieutenant; Mel Harari, Records Lieutenant; Beverly Brown, Training Lieutenant; Richard Raymond, Maintenance Lieutenant; and Jane Mahoney, Equipment Lieutenant. 

Sign Up for E-News

The thirteen-member Board of Trustees will also include: Patty Herzog, Dennis Burd, Doug Stevens, Kari Phair, and Henrietta Mahon.

The Squad's Presidential Award, presented annually to the member that most exemplifies dedication to the Squad and the community, was awarded to Mel Harari, a four-year veteran of the Squad.  Ms. Harari was selected for her numerous contributions to the squad as both a member and officer in 2012.

The Squad is an independent organization and is funded entirely through private donations.  For information on membership, please call 908-277-9479, or visit