HAWTHORNE, NJ - The unofficial results for the council race are in, as reported by the Passaic County Clerk's office.  These votes do not yet include the provisional ballots which could take up to two weeks to process.

In Ward 1 will see the return of Councilman Joseph Wojtecki to his seat, gaining 445 votes over Republican challenger JoAnn Fitzsimmons's 230.

Ward 2, reported as too close to call by TAPinto Hawthorne, has Republican Rayna Laiosa ahead by a margin of 5 votes over Democrat Thomas Bushnauskas.  Laiosa has 380 votes to Bushnauskas's 375. 

Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The Ward 3 race, split three ways, will again return Councilman Garrett Sinning to his post with 501 votes, having defeated Democrat Kimberly Maciejewski who earned 353, and Green Party candidate Craig Cayetano who took 171 votes.

In Ward 4, Council President Frank Matthews will again return with 455 votes, while Democrat challenger Jennifer D'Angelo took 311.

Hey there, reader!  Do you want to chime in?  Submit a letter to the editor of TAPinto Hawthorne
Sign up to receive FREE TAPinto news in your email inbox: www.tapinto.net/enews