Seven Candidates File for Three Seats on Millburn Board of Education

MILLBURN, NJ—Seven township residents have filed petitions with the Essex County clerk to run for the three, three-year terms on the Millburn Board of Education this year.

Under a state law passed two years ago school boards were given the option of retaining the traditional April election date for candidates or switching the election to coincide with the yearly General Election. Millburn’s board voted to move its candidacy elections to November.This year’s General Election will be held on Tuesday, November 4, and the deadline for filing petitions to run in that election was 4 pm this Monday, July 28.

Under the same law, districts with elected boards which chose to move their elections to November no longer were required to submit their budgets to the voters for approval.

Sign Up for E-News

Millburn Board of Education incumbents Jeffrey Waters, who is this year’s president, and Chase Harrison, who is completing a one-year unexpired term, announced they will not seek reelection this year.

On Friday, incumbent Regina Truitt, who this year is serving as vice president of the board, announced that she would seek another three-year term on the school body.

According to the Essex County clerk’s office, the following also have filed petitions of candidacy:

  • Jane Gomez of 18 Farbrook Drive
  • Richard M. Gray of 62 Western Drive
  • James Kasdon of 20 Oval Road
  • Jesse Liu of 58 Farbrook Drive
  • Milton E. Resnick of 105 Browning Road
  • Jyoti B. Sharma of 62 Great Hills Road

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

Millburn/Short Hills