SPARTA, NJ – The Sparta Ambulance Squad held their annual Installation Dinner at Perona Farms last weekend.  New officers and trustees were sworn in by Mayor Molly Whilesmith.

  • Captain: John McChesney
  • 1st Lieutenant: Ashley Darnsteadt
  • 2nd Lieutenant: Michael Lucio
  • Sergeant: Brian Toedtmann
  • Trustees: Arlene Kayne, Brian Bollard and Dave Johnson

A special guest from the EMS Council of New Jersey State 12 District, Edna Deacon presented Thom Holovacs for his 50 years of service.  Holovacs also received an award for going on 200 calls in 2018 as well as the Walter G. Lynch Award for members who exemplify outstanding commitment to the organization according to Ashley Darnstead, Sparta Ambulance Squad 1 Lieutenant.

A significant number of members were recognized for Length of Service awards. 

Sign Up for E-News

Five Years:

  • Cliff Cernek,
  • Colleen McChesney,
  • Jake Lepore,
  • Andrew Lopuch,
  • Matthew Putts,
  • Nicole Regelski

10 Years: Brad Erickson

20 Years:

  • Janice Johnson,
  • Colleen Parriott

40 Years: Arlene Kayne

50 Years: Thom Holovacs

New Members:

Lilliana Alkovic, Sean Ailara, Matthew Cernek, Tess Corcoran, AJ Debski, Kaetana DeGiovanni, Stephanie Downes, Cameron Jones, Samir Koliq, Kelsi Loewen, Aaron Lopez, Amanda Nagy, Ruby Naylor, Christine Rowan, Chrissie Rowe, Michele Scaglione, Isabella Sergent, Ciera Smith, Suzanna Stoch, Erin Tarleton, Marissa Traina

New daytime staff members:

Jon Wong, Kelly Stites, Chris Campbell, CJ Webber, Haley Clancy


Maddie Arcuri, Henry Flint, Danielle Fortini, Joe Nocerino, Jamie Rennie, Julianna Riehl, Amanda Sansone, Kristen Sansone, Kirsten Scott, Michaela Schwartz, Maria Strongilos, David Torres