Arts & Entertainment

Sparta Cub Scout Pack 82 Holds Pinewood Derby

January 28, 2014 at 12:15 AM

SPARTA, NJ -There was lots of excitement in the meeting hall of the First Presbyterian Church, where Sparta Cub Scout Pack 82 held their annual Pinewood Derby on Saturday, Jan 25. There were 31 scouts and nine siblings or parents participating in the race.  Baked goods and other snacks were offered for sale in the Pack 82 Pit Stop Cafe. It was a busy room. 

The Pinewood Derby originated in 1953 by Cub Scout Pack 280C of Manhattan Beach, Cal. and has been a perennial favorite ever since.  Little has changed since those early years with the exception of the introduction of computer scoring in the last decade.  Some tracks are now made of metal while others are still made of wood, just as in 1953.

Built from the same kit that includes a block of wood, four axels and four wheels, each car ended up as unique as the scouts themselves.  Scouts, with assistance from an adult, shape and paint the block of wood to suit their taste.  The finished cars are weighed and measured before being cleared to race.

Sign Up for E-News

One car was on display in the center of the room.  Scout parent Jennifer Enberg received Honorable Mention for her car Something Fishy. The back of the car contained at tiny tank with two gold live goldfish.  The clever car did not race so as not to harm the fish.

There were races for each level of cub scout; Wolves, Bears, Webelos I and II and a parent & sibling category as well.  Each car got a chance to race in every lane of the four lane track. Using only gravity for power, each level has their own heats with an official electronic timer for the finish line. The winners of each level are recognized and then get to race in the all-pack Grand Finals race. 

The top ten winners in the Grand Finals were:

  1. Andres Kristiansen - Anchor's Aweigh,
  2. Scott Wood- The Silver Bullet,
  3. Nick Cortese- Turbo,
  4. Kaden Kamack- Drago 4,
  5. Alexander Simpson- Black Magic,
  6. Benjamin Dykstra- The Ben Car 2014,
  7. Zach Holick- Confused?,
  8. Colin Muller- Gray Thunder,
  9. Anthony Perretta- Commando,
  10. Josh Enberg- Rogue 10-TE.

All of the race results are posted on The Alternative Press facebook page.


TAP Into Another Town's News:

TAP Into Another Town's News:

Sign Up for E-News


Sparta Police: Newton Man Causes Accident, Faces DWI Charges

January 22, 2017

SPARTA, NJ – After a two-car accident on Main Street a Newton man was charged with several DWI related offenses.  On January 13 around 5:34 p.m. Sparta police responded to a call of an accident at the intersection of Main Street and Town Center Drive, near the Stop and Shop police report.

One car had struck the back of another, police report.  Sparta Cpl Dan Elig arrived to ...

Sparta Police Seek Help Identifying Car Burglary Suspect

SPARTA, NJ – The Sparta police are asking the community for help in locating a person of interest in several car burglaries.

Police have released two photos; one of the man they are seeking to identify and the other of a vehicle police believe may be connected to the suspect.  They believe the suspect may have driven the car when the burglaries took place.

 According to ...

Sparta Police: Bronx Man Charged with Trying to Fill Fraudulent Prescription

SPARTA, NJ – A man from Bronx, NY was taken into custody for trying to fill a fraudulent prescription at Sparta CVS on January 16 around 12:51 p.m.

Sparta Police were called.  When Detective Brian Hassloch got to the Theater Center he saw a person meeting the description given by the CVS, driving away in a black mini-van.  Hassloch and Detective Jeff McCarrick stopped the ...

The Epidemic of Opiate Abuse

January 17, 2017

I do not agree with the Governor on much, but I am happy to hear that he has decided to work on drug issues in his final year of office. In our state and in my ex-rural region of Sussex County opioid abuse continues to be a major issue, but it has become now more of a national issue. According to The New York Times, “Opioid addiction is America’s 50-state epidemic.”  ...

Upcoming Events

Thu, January 26, 7:00 PM

Franklin Firehouse, Franklin

Stop the Chop on Sparta Mountain Town Hall Meeting

Education Health & Wellness

Fri, January 27, 7:00 PM

The Inn at Millrace Pond, Hope

A Night of Songwriters At The Inn

Arts & Entertainment


Sat, January 28, 8:45 AM

Skylands Ice World, Stockholm

Learn to Play


Fri, February 3, 7:00 PM

Performing Arts Center at Sussex County Community College, Newton

Drama Geek Studios and SCCC Proudly Present Roald ...

Arts & Entertainment


Sat, February 4, 8:45 AM

Skylands Ice World, Stockholm

Learn to Play


Former Quarterdeck Inn Site Set To Transform Into 105 Room Hotel LBI

January 17, 2017

SHIP BOTTOM, NJ - The owner and developer of two distinctive properties in Stafford and LBI plans to erect a 105 room Victorian style hotel at the former site of the Quarter Deck Inn at the entrance to Long Beach Island in Ship Bottom.   The plans were approved a few years ago for the large hotel but the owner decided to moderately renovate the Quarterdeck building and develop it into the ...

Local Non Profit Schedules Events To Help People In Need

January 18, 2017

Nothing is Impossible, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit created by the senior partners of the McGivney and Kluger law firm. Their mission is to provide temporary financial assistance to individuals and families following a catastrophic event so that they may be able to maintain their independence in the community.  Feeling grateful for their successes, Chuck McGivney ...