Sparta High School Celebrates the Underclassmen Academic Achievement

Sparta High School celebrated the academic acheivement of the underclassmen with an awards ceremony and a tea. Credits: Jennifer Dericks

SPARTA, NJ- The Sparta High School Underclassmen Academic Awards program took place in the Media Center on Friday morning, June 6.   Principal Daniel Johnson gave opening remarks, introducing the program that recognized academic and artistic achievement in each of the departments for Freshmen, Sophomores and Juniors.  Having celebrated the Senior Academic Awards the evening prior, Johnson said, “Today we are recognizing you for your work so far and hope that it encourages you to keep working so we can see you at the senior awards dinner.”

Each of the departments recognized a Student of the Year for each of the grade levels. 

Presented by Mary Hassenplug,

Sign Up for E-News

For English:

  • 9th- Isabella Candeloro
  • 10th- Rebecca Senatore
  • 11th- Veronica LaBelle

For Art:

  • 9th- Emma Zahner
  • 10th-Madeleine Cuan
  • 11th- Emily Haag
  • Presented by Marisa Wilson,

For Science:

  • 9th- Jeremy Dericks
  • 10th- Emily Johnson
  • 11th- Jenny Newton

Presented by Steven Schels,

For Social Studies:

  • 9th- Ben Giugliano
  • 10th- Taylor Nolan
  • 11th- Kristen Tartaglia

For World Language:

  • 9th- Ashley Jackson for French
  • 10th- Rebecca Senatore for Russian
  • 11th- Cullen Walsh for Chinese

Presented by Denis Sheeran

For Music:

  • 9th- Ben Lee for Orchestera
  • 10th- Chelsea Dauphinee for Choir
  • 11th- Matt Rotondi for Band

For Math:

  • 9th- Jose Talon, Honors Geometry and Honors Algebra 2
  • 10th- Claire Mundi, Honors Precalculus
  • 11th- Alex Legasca, Calculus BC, AP Statistics

Assistant Principal Janet Ferraro presented

For Physical Education:

  • 9th- Connor Dick
  • 10th- Ethan Guerra
  • 11th- Alec Hopper

Ferrarro also announced that Kalin Hagedorn and Benjamin Insley were the recipients of the Scholar Athlete award.

Presented by Assistant Principal Steven Stoner.

For Technology, Career and Consumer Science

  • 9th- John Tartaglia
  • 10th- Emma D’Amico
  • 11th- Dean Tappen

The Principal’s Award was given by Johnson to Gretchen Bowie.

The Guidance Awards were presented by Rory Fitzgerald, Director of Guidance.

  • 9th -Brent Bloomgren
  • 10th- Madeleine Cuan
  • 11th- Dillon Prendergast

 In addition to the Guidance Department Awards, several students received awards and honors from organizations outside of the high school. There was a Dwight D Eisenhower Leadership award earned by Sebastian Cook. This recognition is awarded to a junior selected through an application process in the Sparta High School Guidance Department based on the student’s exceptional performance and potential in areas of academics, athletics, community service, good citizenship and leadership according to information published by the West Point Society of New Jersey.  

James Schoch and Alezander Lagasca were announced to be going to American Legion New Jersey Boys this summer.  This program has high school juniors throughout the state participate in governing their own mythical 51st state, learning about all facets of governing. 

The Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership Award was awarded to Melissa Terhune. The HOBY leadership program encourages volunteerism among the nation’s youth.

Steven Viola was announced to have earned a Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Medal. Additionally, Steven Viola and Johnna Margalotti have been selected to attend this year’s Governor’s School.  Governor’s school is a highly competitive summer program of intensive studies in the areas of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.

After all of the accolades the parents and students were invited to enjoy a small bagel brunch, provided by the Sparta High School PSTO. 

“This was a great way to start the day.  It was a very nice program,” said parent Dave Dick.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News