Arts & Entertainment

Sparta High School Students Do Well at Teen Arts Competition

Sparta High School art students and teachers at the Teen Arts Competition.

SPARTA, NJ-The Art Department at Sparta High School had 32 students participate in the Sussex County Teen Arts competition on Tuesday, March 18.  Teachers Robin Cutillo, Christy Graham, Jennifer Kucher, Christine Mase and Krisitn Savasta  proudly  announce 36 of the 55 art pieces submitted received recognition.

The winning art work was designated to one of four categories.  Winners in the SCCC category will have their works displayed at Sussex County Community College from March 24 through April 14 in PAC center Lobby B.  They will be recognized at a reception on Thursday, April 10 in the PAC center at SCCC.

Some works will be displayed at art  galleries  and the Newton Theater from September 2014 through March 2015.

Sign Up for E-News

Students receiving the Public Gallery Judicial designation will receive certificates at a reception to be held at the Judicial Center in Newton on Tuesday April 15 from 6 to 7:30 p.m.

Still others will have their works tour Sussex county from September 2014 through March 2015.

The students who received SCCC designation are;   Julianne Bachmann, Amiee Buchanan,  Erin Cannon, Isabella Cuan, Maddie Cuan, Bianca Cocozziello,  Bridget Den Boer, Jeanne Earl, Dylan Faner, Chris Frignoca, Christine Galley, Darnell Gillins, Emily Haag, Melissa Helspelt, Ali Hurley, Katya Jouravlev, Julia Keenan,  Camilla Kwok, Kristy LeVan, Sydney Liebman,  Caitlyn McGrath,  Justine Potter, Kaya Proctor Judy Thomas.

Steven Vocaturo will have his  art work on display at the Newton theater.

The students who will be recognized at the Public Gallery Judicial Center are Michael Botta,  Molly Curley, Brianne Eisenecker.

Colin Casey, Bridget Den Boer, Elizabeth Smith, Connor Sokol and Steven Vocaturo will have their works tour Sussex county.

Several students have had their artwork selected to be reproduced for future marketing information about the Teen Arts Competition.  They are Aly DeCataldo, Jeanne Earl and Julia Keenan.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News