EDISON, NJ - The Spotswood High School boys tennis team clinched the Greater Middlesex Conference Blue Division title with a 4-1 over Bishop Ahr High School on Monday. Spotswood concluded their championship season with a 10-5 overall record and a 10-4 district record. It was the first title for head coach Daniel Krainski who has coached the boys tennis team for the past six seasons.

"I will say, this is all about the guys," Krainski said about the team. "From our number one to our number nine, the team this year really gelled and worked so well together. Everyone feeds off of each other’s energy and continues to work hard and push each other every practice. I believe this is the first step for the program that really began three seasons ago. The seniors on that team set a standard for them and they have exceeded mine and their expectations. They built this team together and won this together. I am so proud to be called their coach."  

Derek Miller won his first singles match over Bishop Ahr's Tomas Aquino-Sautu, (6-2, 6-3) while John Tobia defeated Matt Jiang, (6-1, 6-2) at second singles. Ryan Miller defeated Jin Zhou, (6-2, 6-2) in his third singles match to complete the singles sweep for Spotswood.

Sign Up for E-News

Matt Evanego and Stephen Gardner won their first doubles match in straight sets, defeating Sean Zagarola and Trent DeMesa, (6-3, 6-1). Bishop Ahr earned their only match point in second doubles by forfeit. Bishop Ahr's Christian Vozza and Nachi Gosukonda were winning 3 -2 in the first set over Matt Chludzinski and Josh Mathew when Mathew needed to retire due to an injury to his knee,

Spotswood was eliminated in the state tournament. However, Derek Miller will be representing Spotswood in the state singles competition, which begins the first week of June. Miller doesn't know his opponent yet since the NJSIAA Singles Tournament bracket has not been released. The junior competed last year in the state singles tournament and made it to the second round.

The members of the 2018 GMC Blue Division championship team include Derek Miller, John Tobia, Ryan Miller, Matt Evanego, Stephen Gardner, Matt Chludzinski, Josh Mathew, Luke Evanego and Connor Lennan.