SPRINGFIELD, NJ - It was a time to take stock and look back on all the spring sports teams accomplished at Jonathan Dayton High School this past school year.

The Boys and Girls Track teams were honored along with the Golf team for capturing division crowns in last year's spring season. Golf secured the Mountain Valley Conference crown while the Girls won the Mountain Division of the Union County Conference and the Boys won their second consecutive title in the Valley Division.

As part of the ceremony, all three coaches got up and made remarks about their teams. Matthew VanDuersen, Boys coach said in an email response after the meeting that he was exceptionally proud of his team members.

Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

"We have a great group of kids that are bought into the program and trust the coaches, and they make a lot of sacrifices during the season," VanDuersen said. “We're surrounded by a staff of coaches that truly care about the student-athletes as individuals and are committed to the program. Our parents are extremely supportive of us and everything we do, and help us instill the values of a successful program."

That sentiment was echoed by Golf Coach Dave Campbell, who also emailed TAPinto with his statement. He said that the golf team was young but improving, and that the circumstances are right for the team to succeed again.

"Our entire roster of varsity letter winners return for the 2020 season," Campbell said. "The young freshman we had letter are only going to get better. This will help the returning letter winners to learn to compete and to score on the golf course.  It will make us a better unit."

Girls Track Coach Bryan Balletto did not have time for a quote after the meeting, but his statements to the board about his team echoed the praise Campbell and VanDuersen had for their teams.

The athletes on each squad are listed below:

Boys Track and Field: Takeo Cobbs, Bryant Egeonu, James Garcia, Chris Ortiz, Marlon Villalobos, Zachary Abromowitz, Patrick Ajayi, Sebastian Fabiani, Matthew Fleischman, Jordan Frei, Daniel Galao-Birkman, Luke Hernandez, Aaron Katalbas, Cole McTernan, Didier Salinas, Scott Steir, Harison Turner, Timothy Ware, Charles Egeonu, Brandon Ehly, Spencer Gary, Randy Leiva, Joani Lico, Patrick Machado, Christian Mancini, Amer Mohamed, James Mooney, Sam Needleman, Evan Rocha, Noah Schraeder, Rasheed Sexius-Clerie, CJ Stavick, Jibran Absarulislam, William Brandstatter, Celesstin Cadet, Adam Cohen, Rafael Felix, Pablo Galao-Birkman, Sean Guerreiro, Kenneth Hardy, Matt Lucas, Sean Riley and James Tiu.

Golf: Jordan, Berkowitz, Sayre Brandstatter, Noam Brooks, Julia Cohen, Ryan Disko, Aiden Forys, Jeremy Greiss, Catherine Miller, Brett Netkin (UCVTS), Jakub Piech, Rachel Harry, Jack Resnick, Sarah Rodrick, Avery Shvarts and Matthew Zeiman.

Girls Track and Field: Anaziah Alexander, Zoe Araw, Kayla Balke, Maiya Barnhardt, Margaret Barrasso, Ava Bertolotti, Cyla Blackmon, Cymantha Blackmon, Iris Brody, Erica Carrie, Chelsea Catullo, Catriona Corbett, Ciara Corbett, Elsie Cohen, Alexandra Dabrowski, Laila Davis, Samantha DeJohn, Kaitlyn Dominguez, Maura Duffy, Lilly Dvorchik, Bellamy Eckhardt, Julia Endress, Sheila Flood, Olivia Gallagher, Kyla Green, Emma Gouiran, Cayla Harris, Abby Hochreiner, Tierra Jackson, Kaila Kane, Shannon Kennedy, Emily Kessel, Gabriella Lipkin, Charlize Lugo, Eliana McNamee, Caitlyn McTernan, Kailee Mera, Aly Monguso, Regina Morales, Chiara Ngassa, Dia Patel, Samantha Potito, Sofia Salcfas, Carina Servello, Sofia Sieminski, Destini Stewart, Olivia Vendas, Kaya Waltzer, Gabriella Zambrano, and managers Katrina Vitug and Emily Viela.