Three Sparta Board Of Education Members Voted Out


SPARTA TOWNSHIP, NJ – Three newcomers will be taking seats with the Sparta Township Public Schools Board of Education come January, knocking out three current members.

Karen M. Scott, Kim Yeomans, and John Surdoval each ended up with the most votes in the election on Tuesday, with 4,515, or 21.01 percent for Scott; 3,853 votes or 17.93 percent for Yeomans; and, 3,641 or 16.94 percent of the votes for Surdoval.

Sign Up for E-News

Board of Education President Keith Smith, Vice President Dorothy LeBeau, and member Ilse Wolfe, whose terms expire in December 2012, did not make the cut.  Of the three, Smith received the fewest votes, at 3,074, or 14.30 percent. Wolfe outranked Smith by only two votes, with 3,076, or 14.31 percent. LeBeau topped the three outgoing incumbents in popularity, with 3,272 votes, or 15.22.

Note: results are unofficial, due to mail in, email, and fax ballots to be counted.

Continue to follow The Alternative Press for further election results. 

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News