BERKELEY HEIGHTS, NJ - Each week leading to the November 3 election, the candidates running for Berkeley Heights Township Council have had the opportunity to answer question(s) that have run in a series by TAPinto Berkeley Heights.

There are four candidates vying for two open seats for Township Council including incumbents Jeanne Kingsley (R) and Susan Poage (D) and newcomers Jeff Varnerin (R) and Bret Sayre (D). 

The residents of Berkeley Heights have had numerous opportunities to learn about each of the candidates through their responses in the League of Women Voters 411pdf, participation in the League of Women Voters Candidates Forum held earlier this month, TAPinto Berkeley Heights Get to Know the Candidate Series and their published Candidate Statements. 

They have answered questions on what they believe are the top priorities; how they would work with small businesses and maintaining viability of the downtown businesses without impacting the taxpayer; advocacy for seniors, programming and steps to have Berkeley Heights become more of an age friendly community; prioritized infrastructure issues; ideas on managing the budget, taxes, and limiting expenses and ideas on increasing revenues in town; campaign finance; dog park and Connell rezoning; Township rezoning; shared services; and diversity and inclusion.

Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

For this final week, TAPinto Berkeley Heights asked each of the candidates: What did you learn by talking to the residents during this campaign season? Provide final comments to the voters of Berkeley Heights. 

The following answer is from Republican Township Council Candidate Jeff Varnerin for Week 4.

Click here to viewpdf League of Women Voters 411 Responses 

Click here to view TAPinto Berkeley Heights Coverage of LWV Candidate Forum.

Click here to view Candidate Statement Section of TAPinto Berkeley Heights.

Jeff Varnerin's responses to TAPinto Berkeley Heights Get to Know the Candidate Series: Week 1, Week 2, Week 3

Berkeley Heights Voter Information.

Important Update: Information for Union County Voters.

Click here for Official Election Website of Union County Clerk Joanne Rajoppi.