WESTFIELD, NJ — Three Westfield High School seniors have been named semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program, the school district announced on Monday.

Grace Endy, Samantha Salz and Maxwell Scialabba are among a nationwide pool of about 16,000 semifinalists who represent less than 1% of U.S. high school seniors, school officials said. The academically talented trio now have the opportunity to continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships that will be offered next spring, the officials said.

“This is a great honor and it speaks volumes about your strength of character and commitment to your education,” Westfield High School Principal Mary Asfendis wrote in a letter to the semifinalists. “On behalf of the Westfield High School administration and faculty, please know that we are very proud of what you have accomplished.”

Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Asfendis also congratulated nine students who were recognized for their exceptional academic promise as Commended Students in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. The students are as follows:

  • Kyle Azzaretto
  • Karan Chulliparambil
  • Olivia Ebel
  • Jonathan Keenan
  • Mira Mehta
  • Sophia Nazzaro
  • Aprina Wang
  • Benjamin Zakharenko
  • Kailey Zhao

Commended students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2021 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Read More Westfield NJ Local News

MORE: Public Input Sought for Westfield Pop-Up Bike Lane Event
MORE: Westfield to Honor Late Civic Leader Who Demanded Equity for Black Families
MORE: Westfield Mourning Loss of First-Grade Teacher Patricia Merlo

Find TAPinto Westfield on Facebook , Twitter and Instagram. Sign up for email news alerts and Download the TAPinto mobile app for Android or iOS.

Are you a business interested in reaching our audience? Contact Jackie Lieberman at jlieberman@tapinto.net.