NEW JERSEY -- New Jersey continues to roll out COVID-19 vaccines step-by-step to serve all adults who live, work, or study in the state.

Currently, vaccines are available to the following groups: healthcare workers, residents and workers of long-term care and high-risk congregate care facilities, first responders including sworn law enforcement and fire professionals, individuals aged over 65, individuals aged 16-64 that have certain medical conditions that increase the risk of severe illness from the virus, pre-K to 12 educators and staff, and childcare workers in licensed and registered settings.

Beginning Monday, March 15, 2021, the following groups will be eligible to book vaccine appointments:

  • Public and local transportation workers, including bus, taxi, rideshare, and airport employees; NJ TRANSIT workers; and Motor Vehicle Commission staff;
  • Public safety workers who are not sworn law enforcement or fire professionals, including probation officers and fire safety inspectors;
  • Migrant farm workers;
  • Members of tribal communities;
  • Individuals experiencing homelessness and those living in shelters, including domestic violence shelters.

In addition, on March 15, individuals with the following conditions that might be at increased risk for severe illness from the virus, will be added to the list of individuals at high risk and eligible for vaccination:

  • Asthma (moderate-to-severe)
  • Cerebrovascular disease (affects blood vessels and blood supply to the brain)
  • Cystic fibrosis
  • Hypertension or high blood pressure
  • Neurologic conditions, such as dementia
  • Liver disease
  • Overweight (BMI > 25 kg/m2, but < 30 kg/m2)
  • Pulmonary fibrosis (having damaged or scarred lung tissues)
  • Thalassemia (a type of blood disorder)
  • Type 1 diabetes mellitus

Additionally, beginning on Monday, March 29, frontline essential workers in the following categories are also eligible for vaccination:

  • Food production, agriculture, and food distribution;
  • Eldercare and support;
  • Warehousing and logistics;
  • Social services support staff;
  • Elections personnel;
  • Hospitality;
  • Medical supply chain;
  • Postal and shipping services;
  • Clergy; and,
  • Judicial system.

To view the full list of those who are eligible, including Healthcare Personnel (Phase 1A)First Responders (Phase 1B)Individuals at High Risk (Phase 1B), click here