About Us

TAPinto.net is a network of more than 90 franchised online local and subject matter news sites in New Jersey, New York and Florida, with more than 15,000,000 readers during the past year. Each site is franchised to a local owner/publisher and provides original objective daily local news reporting.  Current franchisees include business and business development executives, journalists, public relations professionals, hardcopy newspapers, nonprofits and universities.

TAPinto.net  was founded in October, 2008 by Michael and Lauryn Shapiro, who sought to provide their town’s residents with an all-online, objective, independent, daily local newspaper, and Michael Shapiro is the majority owner.  Today, TAPinto covers more than 100 towns in New Jersey, New York, and Florida.  

TAPinto is proud to support many charitable causes including the American Heart Association, Relay for Life, and Dress for Success Northern New Jersey, among others.  TAPinto's executives, employees and franchisees are members of dozens of community organizations including Rotary and the Chamber of Commerce.  

TAPinto offers content marketing, native advertising, social media marketing, exclusive sponsorships, branded content opportunities, email marketing, and traditional online advertising.

TAPinto is available on desktop, mobile, and tablet, and also has a TAPinto App for Android and iPhone.

For more information on marketing on TAPinto, click here.

For more information on franchising a TAPinto site in your area, please click here.

Check out our CEO Michael Shapiro on MSNBC's Your Business discuss his keys to success!

 

Name of LLC Territory/Towns Franchised Site Editor Editor Email
The Convergence/St. Bonaventure University Allegany, NY; Carrollton, NY; Cuba, NY; Ellicottville, NY; Franklinville, NY; Hinsdale, NY; Humphrey, NY; Greater Olean Area Rich Lee greaterolean@tapinto.net
Shark Ventures Barnegat - Waretown Stephanie Faughnan sfaughnan@tapinto.net
WFP Media Partners, LLC Basking Ridge/West Millington/Liberty Corner, Bernardsville & Bedminster Walter Pardo baskingridge@tapinto.net
Oasis Media Bayonne Steve Lenox

slenox@tapinto.net

Words Count Publishing, LLC Belmar/Lake Como Cathy Goetz cgoetz@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press of Berkeley Heights LLC Berkeley Heights Bobbie Peer bpeer@tapinto.net
Bloomfield News, LLC Bloomfield Joe Coletta jcoletta@tapinto.net
E&K Communicatoins LLC Bordentown Elizabeth Meyers emeyers@tapinto.net
LB Media, LLC dba The Breeze Bridgewater/Raritan Audrey Blumberg ablumberg@tapinto.net
Skyway Publishing LLC Camden Steve Rodas srodas@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press of Chatham, LLC Chatham Ed Barmakian ebarmakian@tapinto.net
The Clee Group LLC Clark Darlene Cullen clark@tapinto.net
LLAJ MEDIA, LLC Coral Springs Leon Fooksman lfooksman@tapinto.net
Media Focus, LLC Cranford Robert Ramirez rramirez@tapinto.net
Ferlanda Fox Nixon Denville Ferlanda Nixon fnixon@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press of East Brunswick East Brunswick Maureen Berzok mberzok@tapinto.net
Britnee, LLC East Orange   yournews@tapinto.net
Middlesex Media LLC Edison Claribel Cortes ccortes@tapinto.net
News Worx Incorporated Elizabeth Cristina Pinzon cpinzon@tapinto.net
Beckwill Communications Fair Lawn/Glen Rock Rebecca Greene rgreene@tapinto.net
Hunterdon Media Partnership Flemington/Raritan Audrey Blumberg & Joey Novick ablumberg@tapinto.net, jnovick@tapinto.net
Triple Win, Inc East Hanover/Florham Park Marianne Carillo mcarillo@tapinto.net
LGMB, LLC Franklin Township Malik Lyons mlyons@tapinto.net
TAPinto Local LLC Hackensack Faith Armonaitis farmonaitis@tapinto.net
Managing With Grace, Corp. Hackettstown Michael Grace mgrace@tapinto.net
Lenox Consulting Hamilton Elizabeth Meyers emeyers@tapinto.net,
Aviator Publishing, LLC  Hasbrouck Heights, Wood-Ridge, Teterboro Faith Armonaitis farmonaitis@tapinto.net
Point of View Ventures LLC Hawthorne John Van Vliet jvanvliet@tapinto.net
Hometown News, LLC Hazlet/Keyport Jeanne Wall jwall@tapinto.net
Thirty and Done Online Publishing Hillsborough Rod Hirsch rhirsch@tapinto.net
TAP Into Local LLC Hillside Mike Shapiro mshapiro@tapinto.net
Oasis Media Hoboken Steve Lenox slenox@tapinto.net
Hometown News, LLC Holmdel/Colts Neck Jeanne Wall jwall@tapinto.net
Oasis Media Jersey City Steve Lenox slenox@tapinto.net
Halston Media Katonah - Lewisboro New York Brian Marschhauser marschhauser@halstonmedia.com
Telina LLC Kenilworth Telina Cuppari tcuppari@tapinto.net
Global Queens Publishing, LLP  Linden Aeisha Hayward ahayward@tapinto.net
Livingston TAP LLC Livingston Danielle Santola dsantola@tapinto.net
Southern Ocean Chamber Little Egg Harbor/ Tuckerton Lori Pepenella lp@tapinto.net
L & L Media LLC Madison 

Marianne Carillo

madisoneditor@tapinto.net
Mahopac News Mahopac, NY Bob Dumas bdumas@tapinto.net
Hometown News LLC Middletown Jeanne Wall jwall@tapinto.net
Auberge Media, LLC Millburn/Short Hills Jonathan Sym jsym@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press  Milltown, and Spotswood, LLC  Milltown, and Spotswood Dawn Miller dmiller@tapinto.net
Montclair Media Group, LLC Montclair Natalie Hackett nhackett@tapinto.net
Montville News Online LLC Montville Township (includes Montville, Pine Brook and Towaco) Hope White hwhite@tapinto.net
Morristown Publishing, LLC Morristown Leigh O'Neil morristown@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press of Berkeley Heights LLC Mountainside Bobbie Peer bpeer@tapinto.net
Jaffe Communications, Inc. New Brunswick/Rutgers Chuck O'Donnell codonnell@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press of Berkeley Heights LLC New Providence Bobbie Peer bpeer@tapinto.net
Skyway Publishing LLC Newark Mark Bonamo mbonamo@tapinto.net
Sparta's Local News, LLC Newton Jenny Dericks jdericks@tapinto.net
Lois Jackie, LLC NJ Flavor Jackie Lieberman jlieberman@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press-Warren, LLC North Plainfield, Green Brook, Watchung Brenda Nemcek bnemcek@tapinto.net
North Salem News North Salem, NY Jodi Weinberger northsalem@tapinto.net
Passaic Valley Media LLC Nutley John Lee jlee@tapinto.net
TAP Into Local LLC Paramus Michael Shapiro

 

mshapiro@tapinto.net
Five by the Glades, LLC Parkland, Florida Gina Pfingsten gpfingsten@tapinto.net
Triple Win, Inc Parsippany

Marianne Carillo

mcarillo@tapinto.net
Passaic Valley Media, LLC Passaic Valley John Lee/Christa Limone

jlee@tapinto.net, 

climone@tapinto.net

Oasis Media Paterson Steve Lenox slenox@tapinto.net
Birch Run Media, LLC Piscataway Ken and Kia Simmons piscataway@tapinto.net
TAPinto Queen City, LLC Plainfield Jen Popper jpopper@tapinto.net
Rein Reports Princeton Richard Rein rrein@tapinto.net
Randolph News Online LLC Randolph Wendi Manderioli wmanderioli@tapinto.net
Scotch Plains Online LLC Raritan Bay (Sayreville, South Amboy) John Mooney jmooney@tapinto.net
Navesink Enterprises LLC Red Bank Scott Wingerter swingerter@tapinto.net
Sleek News LLC Ridgewood Jason DeAlessi jdealessi@tapinto.net
TAP Into Local LLC Roselle/RosellePark Mike Shapiro mshapiro@tapinto.net
Fred. J. Aun Roxbury, NJ Fred Aun faun@tapinto.net
Scotch Plains Online LLC Scotch Plains-Fanwood John Mooney jmooney@tapinto.net
Somers Record Somers, NY Brian Marschhauser marschhauser@halstonmedia.com
Thirty and Done Online Publishing Somerville Rod Hirsch rhirsch@tapinto.net
TAP Ventures LLC South Brunswick Rob Rakossy rrakossy@tapinto.net
FMS Enews, LLC South Orange/Maplewood Alia Covel acovel@tapinto.net
Backyard Publishing LLC South Plainfield Darlene Cullen dcullen@tapinto.net
Sparta's Local News, LLC Sparta Jenny Dericks jdericks@tapinto.net
Auberge Media, LLC Springfield  Jonathan Sym jsym@tapinto.net
Shark Ventures, LLC Stafford/LBI, NJ Pat and Kaitlyn Sharkey psharkey@tapinto.net and ksharkey@tapinto.net
JG Elliott LLC Summit Greg Elliot gelliot@tapinto.net
Buss Reports, LLC Sutton Place/ Lenox Hill Marc Bussanich mbussanich@tapinto.net
Aciem LLC TAPinto TV Brian Brodeur tapintotv@tapinto.net
Union News Online LLC Union Kathy Cryan kcryan@tapinto.net
Auberge Media, LLC Verona/Cedar Grove Jonathan Sym jsym@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press-Warren, LLC Warren, NJ Brenda Nemcek bnemcek@tapinto.net
Ferris Publishing LLC Wayne, NJ Jon 'Ferris' Meredith jmeredith@tapinto.net
Auberge Media, LLC West Essex Jonathan Sym jsym@tapinto.net
Auberge Media, LLC West Orange Jonathan Sym jsym@tapinto.net
Lois Jackie, LLC Westfield Jackie Liberman, Matt Kadosh

jlieberman@tapinto.net,

mkadosh@tapinto.net

Yorktown News Yorktown, NY Jodi Weinberger somers@tapinto.net

 

We are always searching for ways to give our franchisees the tools to make their reporting and coverage transparent, independent and objective, while updating our policies to ensure that all of our sites follow the highest ethical standards for journalism. 

Here is what we have done to continue to build trust with our readers:

SPJ Code of Ethics

The Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) has served as the preeminent professional association for journalists since 1909.  SPJ publishes a strict code of ethics.  All TAPinto sites are required to adhere to the SPJ Code of Ethics.  You can read more about the Code of Ethics here.

No Editorializing 

While editorial and opinion have their place, TAPinto's mission is focused on reporting the news.  To protect the integrity of reporting, TAPinto maintains a policy that prohibits our franchisees and journalists from engaging in editorialization and opinion journalism. 

No Endorsement of, or Contributions to, Local Political Candidates

Our TAPinto franchises provide readers with important coverage of local government and politics.  To ensure quality, unbiased coverage, as well as the appearance thereof, we adopted a policy that prohibits franchisees and their owners from making endorsements of, or otherwise publicly supporting, their local political candidates in any manner.  We also adopted a policy that prohibits all TAPinto franchisees and their owners from contributing to political candidates running for local office in their town(s).  We also have strongly recommended to all TAPinto franchisees and their owners and site editors that they refrain from making endorsements of, or otherwise publicly supporting, regional, state and national candidates or elected officials, including, but not limited to, on personal or public social media, via lawn signs, or otherwise.

Disclosure of Ownership

All of our sites are bound by a disclosure policy so our readers know the ownership of each TAPinto franchise.

Disclosure of Perceived or Potential Conflicts of Interest

We require that should a reporter, editor, or franchise owner be a member of the group that is the subject of the story or have a financial or business relationship with the subject of the story, disclosure is prominently noted in the story through an Editor’s Note.

Clear Advertising Disclosures

Lines between news content and advertising at times have become blurred as online news organizations test new advertising products and business models.  All of our content advertising and sponsorship is clearly and conspicuously marked so readers know if they're looking at paid content. 

As always, we welcome feedback from TAPinto readers to help us continue to improve and grow.

Correction Policy

When TAPinto publishes a story and later find out there was a factual mistake/error in it (including misquoting someone), we will publish a corrected version of the story as soon as possible.  This creates greater transparency regarding corrections and creates more accountability with our readers.

If an article needs to be corrected, we will correct the mistake and mark an *asterisk* at the end of the corrected sentence. 

We will then include an italicized "Editor's note" at the bottom (for minor corrections) or the top (for major corrections) of the story with an explanation of the correction. 

For example: Editor's Note: John Symth's name was spelled incorrectly in an earlier version of this story.  

Fact-Checking Policy

All stories are fact-checked prior to publication. If you feel a story includes incorrect facts, please contact the editor of the site using the contact information in the table above.