SPRINGFIELD, NJ — For the cast and crew of this year's fall drama, "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time," the aim is to build on last year's showing at the Montclair State Theatre Night Awards.

The awards are meant to honor the best in high school and middle school plays across the state of New Jersey, according to the website.

After winning one award at last year's ceremony, for Excellence in Dramaturgy, the cast and crew from Dayton find themselves again up for six nominations, which include four individual accolades, and two group categories;

Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

  • Outstanding Achievement in Student Stage Management: Lauren Schultz
  • Outstanding Performance by a Supporting Actor in Dramatic Adaptation of Literary Work or Film: Jonah Glass
  • Outstanding Performance by a Supporting Actress in Dramatic Adaptation of Literary Work or Film: Lilly Friedman 
  • Outstanding Performance by a Lead Actress in Dramatic Adaptation of Literary Work or Film: Sarah Zarember
  • Outstanding Achievement by an Acting Ensemble of a Dramatic Stage Adaptation of Literature Work or Film
  • Outstanding Production of a Dramatic Stage Adaptation of Literary Work or Film

Drama Director and Jonathan Dayton English teacher Anthony DeNicolo had nothing but praise for his cast and crew who worked on the show.

"From our very first rehearsal, the students approached this play with excitement and professionalism," DeNicolo said. "They were such a joy to direct.

"This play required every student involved, in both the cast and crew, to work together to ensure that our lighting, sound, visual, and stage movement effects all worked in harmony with each other. I'm so proud of the individual students who were recognized, as well as every student who contributed, as our overall production was nominated, as well."

TAPinto Springfield also reached out to the four individual awardees, hearing back from Zarember, who played the lead role of Christopher Boone, and Schultz, the stage manager. Both were thankful for the recognition.

"I am so unbelievably proud of my entire cast and crew for garnering six Foxy nominations for the second year in a row," Zarember said. "For a small school, we have continually managed to accomplish incredibly daunting tasks with grace and determination. While our program focuses on self-expression, having fun, and community, appreciation for the hard work that every single person involved puts in is always appreciated and is never a bad thing."

Zarember also congratulated Friedman, Glass, and Schultz on their respective personal nominations, as well as the entire rest of the cast and crew for their ensemble nominations for the production as a whole.

Schultz was also proud of the nominations for the cast and crew that were received for their work on "Curious Incident."

"I am so proud of all of the nominations we received for this show, and I am so honored to be among those who received an individual nomination," Schultz said. "I am so glad to see that all of our hard work has paid off, and I am so grateful for Mr. DeNicolo and our amazing cast, as there is no way I would have been nominated if not for them."

The Foxy Awards will be presented by YouTube stream next month from the campus of Montclair State University. TAPinto Springfield will have continuing coverage.