CRANFORD - The deadline for filing a petition to run in a June Primary Election is Monday, April 1.

Candidates who are interested, should contact the Township Clerk, Patricia Donahue, at 908-709-7210 for the Nominating Petition for the June 4th Primary election. Nominating petitions must be received by the Clerk by Monday, April 1st at 4:00pm. Approximately 50 registered voter signatures are required.

Voters who wish to apply for a Vote-by-Mail Ballot can do so at two locations:

Sign Up for E-News

Office of the Union County Clerk 
Union County Courthouse - Election Division 
2 Broad Street, Room 113 
Elizabeth, New Jersey 07207 
Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Office of the Union County Clerk 
Frasier Building 
300 North Avenue East 
Westfield, New Jersey 07090 
Monday / Wednesday / Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. 
Tuesday / Thursday: 8:00 a.m. - 7:30 p.m. 
Saturday: 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Upcoming important election-related dates are:

APRIL

  • Monday, April 1 – Petition filing deadline 4:00 p.m. for the June Primary Election.
  • Friday, April 5 – Deadline for objections to partisan candidates nominating petitions for the Primary Election.
  • Wednesday, April 10 – Deadline for the Determination of Petition Challenge for the Primary Election, Last day to file Party Declaration Forms to change political party affiliation for the June Primary.
  • Friday, April 12 –  Ballot Position Drawing for the Primary Election at 3:00 p.m. 
  • Monday, April 15 – Continuing Political Action Committee 1st quarter Campaign Finance Report due in Trenton.

MAY

  • Monday, May 6 – 29-Day Pre-Primary Election Campaign Finance Report due in Trenton.
  • Tuesday, May 14 – Last day to register to vote for the June Primary Election.
  • Tuesday, May 21 – Deadline for filing of appointments or applications for Challengers with the Union County Board of Elections for the Primary Election.
  • Friday, May 24 – 11-Day Pre-Primary Election Campaign Finance Report due in Trenton.
  • Tuesday, May 28 – Last day to apply by mail for a Mail-In Ballot for the Primary Election.
  • Friday, May 31 – Challenge to Mail-In Ballots for the Primary Election at the Board of Elections.

JUNE

  • Saturday, June 1 – Special opening from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. of the County Clerk Offices in Elizabeth and Westfield to apply for a Mail-In Ballot for the Primary Election.
  • Monday, June 3 – Last day to apply in person for a Mail-In Ballot before 3:00p.m. in the County Clerk Offices in Elizabeth and Westfield.
  • Tuesday, June 4 – Primary Election Day: Polls are open 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 4 – Petition filing deadline for Independent candidates for the General Election at 4:00 p.m.
  • Monday, June 10 – Deadline for objections to Independent candidates nominating petitions for the General Election.
  • Thursday, June 13 – Deadline for Determination of Petition Challenge for Independent petitions for the General Election.
  • Friday, June 21 – Deadline for Recount of the Primary Election; application to be made with Judge of Superior Court.
  • Monday, June 24 – 20-Day Post-Primary Election Campaign Finance Report due in Trenton.

JULY

  • Monday, July 15 – Continuing Political Action Committee 2nd quarter Campaign Finance Report due in Trenton
  • Monday, July 29 – Petition filing deadline 4 p.m. for the November School Board Election.

AUGUST

  • Friday, Aug. 2 – Deadline for objections to School Board candidates nominating petitions.
  • Thursday, Aug. 8 – Deadline for Determination of Petition Challenge for School Board petitions.
  • Monday, Aug. 12 – General Election and School Board Election Ballot Position Drawing at 3:00 p.m.
  • Friday, Aug. 16 – Last day for a Municipal and/or County Governing Body to approve a proposition to appear on the  General Election Ballot.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 27 – Last day for an Independent candidate and School Board candidate to withdraw from the General Election Ballot (If a candidate withdraws by this date a new nominating petition naming a replacement candidate can be filed see September 3rd deadline).
  • Friday, Aug. 30 – Last day for voters of a municipality to place a proposition on the General Election Ballot.

SEPTEMBER

  • Tuesday, Sept. 3 – Petition filing deadline for a new Nomination Petition to fill a vacancy for an Independent candidate and School Board candidate for the General Election.
  • Friday, Sept. 6 – Deadline for School Board candidate to withdraw (The last possible date a candidate can withdraw without being able to file a replacement candidate.)
  • Tuesday, Sept. 10 – Last day for a candidate nominated in the Primary Election to withdraw from the General Election.                                                                        
  • Thursday, Sept. 12 – Last day to fill a vacancy of Primary Election nominees.

OCTOBER

  • Tuesday, Oct. 15 – Continuing Political Action Committee 3rd quarter Campaign Finance Report due in Trenton.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 15 – Last day to register to vote for the General Election.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 22 – Deadline for filing of appointments or applications for Challengers with the Union County Board of Elections for the General Election, School Board Election and Hillside Municipal Non-Partisan Election.
  • Friday, Oct. 25  – 11-Day Pre-General Election, Pre-School Board Election and Pre-Hillside Municipal Non-Partisan Election Campaign Finance Report due in Trenton.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 29 – Last day to apply by mail for a Mail-In Ballot for the General Election.

NOVEMBER

  • Friday, Nov. 1 – Challenge to Mail-In Ballots for the General Election, School Board Election and Hillside Municipal Non-Partisan Election at the Board of Elections.
  • Saturday, Nov. 2 – Special opening from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. of the County Clerk Offices in Elizabeth and Westfield to apply for a  Mail-In Ballot for the General Election.
  • Monday, Nov. 4 –  Last day to apply in person for a Mail-In Ballot before 3:00 p.m. in the County Clerk Offices in Elizabeth and Westfield.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 5 – General Election Day: Polls are open 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
  • Friday, Nov. 22 – Deadline for Recount of the General Election, School Board Election and Hillside Municipal Non-Partisan Election application to be made with Judge of Superior Court.
  • Monday, Nov. 25 – 20-Day Post General Election, Post School Board Election and Post Hillside Municipal Non-Partisan Election Campaign Finance Report due in Trenton.

Joanne Rajoppi
Union County Clerk
jrajoppi@ucnj.org
908-527-4787
www.ucnj.org/cty-clerk