SPOTSWOOD, NJ - Nellie Kaune is a fixture at the Spotswood ShopRite. The cashier is extremely popular with Spotswood ShopRite regulars with many spending a few extra minutes to wait on her check-out line. On March 14, Kaune was featured on a Cheerios box along with fellow Spotswood ShopRite store associate Ricardo Ferreira. The special boxes were unveiled at a ceremony last week after they won a competition sponsored by ShopRite and General Mills.

The ShopRite Partners In Caring Cheerios Contest is a yearly event held in the fall. This year's contest theme was "20 Years of Good." During the campaign ShopRite associates in more than 100 stores worked together to collect food donations for local food banks at the check-outs as well as participating in store-wide events to help raise awareness about the national fight against hunger.

“ShopRite and General Mills are proud to celebrate 20 years of hunger fighting through the ShopRite Partners In Caring program. What started in 1999 as a collaboration between ShopRite and General Mills, with the eventual goal to raise $1 million for local food banks, has grown into a revered charitable fund that supports 2,200 food pantries within the Feeding America network to the tune of over $3 million dollars a year," said ShopRite spokeswoman Karen Meleta.

Sign Up for E-News

Kaune, who resides in Jamesburg, and Ferreira, an Edison resident, were chosen from the Spotswood ShopRite while Zaharenia Dellaportas from Iselin and Ed Rowan from East Brunswick were picked from the ShopRite of Clark. In all, ShopRite and General Mills recognized 50 ShopRites from New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and Maryland. One hundred and one ShopRite associates were chosen to appear on the double-banded Cheerios boxes including Kaune and Ferreira.

The customized Cheerios boxes will by sold exclusively at the respective ShopRites after being unveiled at the special ceremonies on March 14. Each winning store also receives prize money to be donated to the food bank of the store's choosing. The top five winning stores were awarded $3000 while the remainder of the winning stores were given $500.