Police & Fire

Chief Michael Bramhall of West Caldwell Police, elected President of Essex Association of Chiefs of Police

Chief Michael J. Bramhall of the West Caldwell Police Department Credits: West Caldwell Police Department

CEDAR GROVE, NJ - Michael J. Bramhall, Chief of the West Caldwell Police Department, will be the newest President of The Association of Chiefs of Police for Essex County, New Jersey.  Chief Bramhall was sworn in on Thursday, December 6th;  his term will run from January, 2013 to December,  2014.  He is replacing the previous 2011-2012 President, Chief Robert Cimino of Maplewood.

Chief Bramhall joined the association after being promoted to Chief in November 2009 and has previously served as the Recording Secretary, as well as 1st and 2nd Vice President,  Chief Bramhall commented:  “It is an honor to serve as President of the Association.  I want to thank Chief Anthony Ambrose of the Essex County Prosecutors Office for nominating me, I appreciate his support.  I also want to thank Mayor Joseph Tempesta for his continued support of the West Caldwell Police Department."

On the Association’s website, outgoing President, Chief Cimino, explains that the main purpose of the organization is to: “facilitate the sharing of information among all twenty-two municipal police departments in the county, as well as the county Sheriff’s Department, the Prosecutor’s Office, other law enforcement agencies within the county, such as university and hospital police, the Port Authority and New Jersey Transit police and federal law enforcement agencies including the FBI, DEA and Secret Service.”

Organizations which affiliate themselves with the Association include over 40 local, county, state and federal Law Enforcement Agencies.  Current Members include 200 current police chiefs, retired chiefs,  as well as other members who work in law enforcement, or who don’t directly work in law enforcement but simply support the Association’s goals.

According to their website, Members of the Association “actively pursue information sharing through monthly discussions of current criminal activities and long term strategies designed to fight and reduce crime and provide a safe environment in our communities.”

The Association was formed in 1955. Current Members include the following Essex County and area Law Enforcement organizations:
* Belleville Police Department: Chief Joseph P. Rotonda

* Bloomfield Police Department: Chief Christopher P. Goul

* Caldwell Police Department: Chief James H. Bongiorno

* Cedar Grove Police Department: Chief Richard Vanderstreet

* Drug Enforcement Administration, Newark: Acting SAC Robert G. Koval

* East Orange Police Department: Chief William C. Robinson

* Essex County College Police Academy: Director Rocco L. Miscia, Jr.

* Essex County College Police Department:  Chief Anthony Cromartie

* Essex County Inspector General:  Dominic J. Scaglione

* Essex County Prosecutor’s Office:  Acting Prosecutor Carolyn A. Murray, Chief Anthony F. Ambrose

* Essex County Sheriff’s Office:  Sheriff Armando B. Fontoura, Chief John D. Dough

* Essex Fells Police Department:  Chief Vincent A. Kulik

* Fairfield Police Department:  Chief Charles G. Voelker, Jr.  

* Federal Bureau of Investigation, Newark – SAC Michael B. Ward

* Glen Ridge Police Department:  Chief Sheila Byron-Lagattuta

* Irvington Police Department:  Director Joseph Santiago, Chief Michael Chase

* Livingston Police Department:  Chief Craig M. Handschuch

* Maplewood Police Department:  Chief Robert J. Cimino

* Millburn Police Department:  Chief Gregory G. Weber

* Montclair Police Department:  Chief David P. Sabagh

* Montclair State University:  Chief Paul Cell

* National Park Service, West Orange:  Chief Ranger Theresa Jung

* Newark Police Department:  Director Samuel A. DeMaio, Chief of Police Sheilah A. Coley

* New Jersey Institute of Technology:  Director Robert Sabattis

* New Jersey Transit Police Department, Newark:  Chief Christopher Trucillo

* North Caldwell Police Department:  Chief Mark A. Deuer

* Nutley Police Department:  Chief John U. Holland

* Orange Police Department:  Acting Director Hakim Sims

* Port Authority of New York & New Jersey Police Department, Jersey City - Acting Chief John Ryan

* Roseland Police Department:  Chief Richard McDonough

* Rutgers University Police Department:  Chief Michael Lattimore, Sr.

* South Orange Village Police Department:  Chief James M. Chelel

* United States Secret Service, Morristown:  Acting SAC James Mottola

* University of Medicine & Dentistry NJ Police, Newark:  Chief Christopher Michael

* Verona Township Police Department:  Chief Douglas J. Huber

* Waterfront Commission Police Department, New York, NY:  Chief John J. Hennelly

* West Caldwell Police Department:  Chief Michael J. Bramhall

* West Orange Police Department:  Chief James P. Abbott

Chief Bramhall is joined on the Executive Board by:
* Chief Mark Deuer, North Caldwell Police Department, 1st Vice President

* Chief Sheliah Coley, Newark Police Department, 2nd Vice President

* Chief Vincent Kulik, Essex Fells Police Department, Treasurer

* Chief James Bongiorno, Caldwell Police Department, Corresponding Secretary

* Chief Craig Handschuch, Livingston Police Department, Recording Secretary

* Chief Shelia Byron-Lagatutta, Glen Ridge Police Department, Sergeant-at-Arms

Anyone interested in joining the Association can fill out an application on the website: CLICK HERE

For further information:
Essex County Police Chief’s Association
250 Grove Avenue
Cedar Grove, NJ 07009
Website:  http://essexnjpolicechiefs.org

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News