Arts & Entertainment

Somerset Hills Historical Society Seeks New Members As 90th Anniversary Social Approaches

The Historical Society of the Historical Society is celebrating its 90th anniversary with a wooden keepsake of the Brick Academy in Basking Ridge. Credits: Courtesy of THSSH

BERNARDS TWP., NJ - The Historical Society of the Somerset Hills (THSSH) is seeking new members in anticipation of the kickoff of the society's 90th anniversary at the 2018 Annual Members Kickoff Social scheduled for 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 8, at the Brick Academy in Basking Ridge.

The evening is set to include the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Awards Presentation to a local historian, the Walk of Honor display, and cake and light refreshments.

Attendance is open to members only and their guests. However, members of the public can easily join the THSSH online. Dues are a tax-deductible $20 for individuals ($10 for senior citizens over 65), and $30 for families.

Sign Up for E-News

Members can Click Here to RSVP.

The historic Brick Academy building is located at 15 W. Oak St. in downtown Basking Ridge.

To celebrate the 90th anniversary of the founding of the first historical society in the area, THSSH also announced the launch of the Historic Somerset Hills Village Keepsake Collection in partnership with the renowned Cat's Meow Village Company. THSSH introduces its first collectible in the collection, a wooden collectible of the historic 1809 Brick Academy, home to The Historical Society of the Somerset Hills.

The wooden collectible is available online starting in January 2018 and will also be available at the Brick Academy Museum store.

The list of the nominees submitted for Society's 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award includes:

John Campbell (Bernards Twp.): Former THSSH trustee and founder of the Friends of the KMS Farmstead. First elected trustee in 2002. Served for next 12 years. Focus: preservation

June Campbell (Bernards Twp.): Former THSSH chair for 10 years, Trustee for 24 years. First elected trustee in 1990. Focus: museum curator.

June Kennedy (Bernards Twp.): Former THSSH trustee for 25 years starting in 1988, Education Committee Chair, Bernards Twp. Historian. Focus: education

Daniel Lincoln (Bernardsville): Current THSSH trustee, President of THSSH for 24 of 27 years. Historic Preservation Chair, grant producer, founder of Bernardsville HPAC and Friends of Dunster Squibb House. Focus: preservation

2018 nominations in memory of late members includes:

Archibald Carswell (Bernards Twp.): First elected Society trustee in 1933. Served on the board for 26 years. President for 12 years from 1957 through 1968.

Mary Ellis Conkling (Bernards Twp.): First President of the Society in 1928. Elected president for 12 years straight before her death in 1940.

Pritch Matthews (Bedminster Twp.): Became Bedminster Township Historian in 1988. Member of the Township's Historical Preservation Commission. Her involvement with local history led to her writing in 1999 "Bedminster Township ‐ 250 Years". Died in 2009.

Richard Rozewski (Bernards Twp.): First elected trustee in 1986. First president of renamed THSSH. Served 2 years as THSSH President.

David Stone (Bernards Twp,): First elected trustee in 1996. Served as trustee for the next 8 years.

Mildred Dunham Van Dyke (Bernards Twp.): First elected trustee in 1997. Served for next 13 years. Died at age 103.

Nominees and winners will be honored at the 2018 Annual Kickoff Member Meeting, with a formal announcement of the winners and presentation to be made that evening. Winners and their immediate families will be notified of the award after the January THSSH trustee meeting. 

The nominees will be honored, and the 2 category winners will be awarded a brick inscribed with their name to be placed in a new “Walk of Honor” alongside the Brick Academy’s western walkway along with a certificate of appreciation. The brick will be installed and unveiled at Bernards Township Charter Day in May 2018.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

Basking Ridge

Somerville Approves 40-Acre Transit Village with Route 206 Gateway

May 13, 2018

SOMERVILLE, NJ – Somerset Station, an expansive Transit Village featuring apartments, townhouses, retail stores and a community center alongside the NJ Transit Raritan Valley line - with an interior roadway providing access to Route 206 - was given site plan and subdivision approvals by the Planning Board following a 3 ½-hour meeting Wednesday night.

The final application is based ...

Upcoming Events


Sat, May 26, 10:15 AM

Lord Stirling Stable, Basking Ridge

Lord Stirling Stable Offers Saturday Dog Walks

Health & Wellness

Fri, June 1, 9:00 AM

The Wayrick Gallery, Scherman Hoffman Wildlife Sanctuary, Bernardsville

NJ Audubon: NJ Audubon Photography Instructors’ ...

Arts & Entertainment Green

Somerset Hills YMCA Swim Team has Record-Breaking Short Course Season

May 22, 2018

BASKING RIDGE, NJ - In April, Somerset Hills YMCA (SHY) Swim Team Parent Organization celebrated the team’s 2017-2018 season with its annual Awards Banquet held at the Westin Governor Morris in Morristown. The event celebrates swimmers and the contributions of coaches and parents. This year, the team had quite a few record-breaking accomplishments to be proud of.

As a charitable ...

SURVIVING A STROKE: Quick Medical Response Gives Mom Her Life Back

Carotid artery dissection. It’s one of the most common causes of stroke in younger adults.

And while you might not associate the word “stroke” with younger patients, the condition – if not treated immediately – could lead to paralysis and even death.

Lindsey Singh can attest to the importance of immediacy. The 31-year-old mother of two from Flanders experienced ...


AtlantiCast: Episode 15

On this week’s AtlantiCast, learn some important tips for controlling and avoiding diabetes from an Atlantic Health System expert, see how Atlantic Health is advancing cutting-edge research, hear what’s being done to keep health care environmentally friendly and much more!