BASKING RIDGE, NJ -- Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) this week announced the names of nearly 16,000 Semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

There are 21 Ridge High School students who have been named as 2020 semifinalists:

Vikram Agrawal
Arul Gupta
Kaivalya Hariharan
Annika Helgeson
Claire Ho
Hans Iselborn
Meghan Jin
Shiam Kannan
Katelyn King
Blisse Kong
Mason Krohn
Rishi Kundargi
Anthony Lan
David Liu
Meredith Lou
Sreekar Madabushi
Tanvi Namjoshi
Caroline Sha
Anna Skrobala
Adith Sundram
Kevin Tang

Sign Up for Basking Ridge Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

These high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition.

More than 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

More than 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.