Belmar Elementary School Spotlights Honor Roll Achievement

Sixth- through eighth-graders achieving High Honor Roll status at Belmar Elementary School receive their certificates at this week’s Honor Roll assembly. Credits: Cathy Goetz

BELMAR, NJ — “Fear can be your friend.” That was the message Belmar Elementary School Principal Lisa Gleason conveyed this week to sixth- through eighth-graders attending the school’s Honor Roll assembly for the third marking period.

“When we think about risk and worry about failure, we need to look at these moments for opportunity of big growth,” she told the group, drawing upon the business acumen of the late Steve Jobs.

Earning honor roll status is a way to push through the fear and set goals to attain that distinction,” she said. “Today is all about academic achievement.”

Sign Up for E-News

Gleason informed the students of the good news for the marking period: Since the first marking period, there was an increase in the number of students on each grade level achieving High Honor Roll status — earning a grade of 93 or higher in all subjects including related arts. For sixth-graders, the number rose from three to seven, seventh-graders, seven to 10, and eighth-graders, two to three.

Here are the 20 High Honor Roll achievers:

  • Sixth grade: Braeden Chek, Kayla Kirk, Ethan Miller, Julia Nicolay, Jaslya Robinson, Estefany Sanchez-Barcenas and Eleanor Solomon.
  • Seventh grade: Athena Komitas, Jacqueline Litowinsky, Declan Mannion, Raul Olmedo, Logan Orlowski, Madeline Orlowski, Fiona Reilly, Maeve Reilly, Emma Rokoszak and Nicole Tonny.
  • Eighth grade: Maggie Jelley, Karen Li and Kayla Pyne.

Below is the list of the 56 Honor Roll recipients, earning a grade of 85 or higher in all subjects including related arts, for the third marking period.

  • Sixth grade: Brianna Alejendrez Alvarado, Kelly Garcia Avila, David Cajas, Janiyah Chaney, Christopher Clara, Diana Gil, Kylie Gill, Ella Herbert, Isis Herrera, Kevin Herrera, Gavin Lisko, Tyler Lisko, Christopher Lynch, Mahogany McClaren, Nenah McLoughlin, Ever Mendoza,  Lauren Morse, Brody Moss, Ella Speidel, Dalil Suluki, Jennifer Valentin, Francesco Viterbo and Hannah Wilton.
  • Seventh grade: William Anan, Juan Garcia, Frida Paz-Garnica, Miguel Juarez, Isabel Lusardi, Madelyn McManus, Enrique Mendoza, Lia Mendoza, Jessica Meza, Kyle Polito, Maria Quintero, Estephany Riano, Sophia Rokoszak, Vincent Russo, Eber Trejo, Analisa Viterbo, Khadeija Webb and Kevin Zuniga.
  • Eighth grade: Diana Aguilar, Brian Arias, Kevens Caballero, Nicholas Connelly, America Garay, Audrey Hardmeyer, Lindsey Hardmeyer, Margaret Held, Ayden Hope, Sabrina Knight, Vanessa Meza, Taina Montoya, Jake Oleszkiewicz, Orlando Osorio and Joseph Walsh.




TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

Belmar/Lake Como

St. Patrick’s Day Sobriety Check in Belmar/Neptune Area on Tap by State Police

March 16, 2018

BELMAR, NJ — Giving no details on location and time, New Jersey State Police plans to conduct a sobriety checkpoint on Saturday, March 17 in the area of Belmar and Neptune Township,

The state police made the announcement on its Facebook page, alerting motorists that state troopers will be pulling over vehicles at this undisclosed location and time  “looking for signs of ...

Health Alert: Child with Measles Traveled to Newark Airport on March 12

March 15, 2018

TRENTON, NJ — If you were at Newark Liberty International Airport on Monday, March 12 between 12:45 and 9 p.m., you may have been exposed to measles and should contact your health care provider.

The N.J. Department of Health has issued a public health alert after a child with a confirmed case of measles — a highly contagious disease — arrived in Terminal B at Newark Liberty ...

Building Meadow's Garden & Playground: A Father's Vision to Honor His Daughter

March 11, 2018

PARKLAND, FL — For Andrew Pollack, the loss of his daughter Meadow Pollack in the Marjory Stoneman Douglas tragedy has spurred him to focus his energies on improving school safety and build a playground to honor his daughter.

"I had a vision of, instead of going to the cemetery, I wanted to do something that Meadow would have liked to go to, Pollack said. "I had a vision of ...

Electronics: The Negative Impact on Literacy

March 6, 2018

To the Editor:

As speech-language pathologists across New Jersey prepare to mark National March into Literacy Month,  let’s address the alarming number of young children who spend countless hours a day on a handheld screen.

According to a study from the Pediatric Academic Societies Meeting, the more time that children under age 2 spend on smartphones, tablets and electronic ...