BELMAR, NJ — For a small town, Belmar does have a lot of bridges. And with that introduction, Belmar Historical Society begins this week’s “Spotlight on Belmar” video.
In “The Bridges of Belmar,” which can be viewed by clicking here, BHS trustee and archivist Naomi Reissner chronicles how the borough would become linked at three critical locations along the Shark River throughout its history until today.
And it all began with a wooden bridge, built in 1856, that brought over a group of businessmen vacationing in Ocean Grove who would purchase the land to form Ocean Beach in 1885 — only to officially become Belmar five years later.
“Spotlight on Belmar” is a weekly video series launched this spring as a way to offer residents and others the opportunity to stay connected to the history of Belmar while the museum is closed during the coronavirus crisis.
Every Sunday, BHS posts a new video on its Facebook page, featuring a society member who explores a specific historical topic related to the borough. These videos have focused on the borough’s very beginnings, early hotels, Belmar Elementary School, development of the railroad, history of beach badges, Inlet Terrace as the world’s largest swimming pool and its musical past, as well as several that offer samplings of the society’s extensive 1,100-piece postcard collection.
Another video showcases a variety of exclusive gifts that are available for purchase to support the nonprofit organization dedicated to keeping alive the borough’s colorful and distinctive past.
To learn more about Belmar Historical Society and its many programs and services, visit its website by clicking here.
TAPinto Belmar/Lake Como is Belmar and Lake Como’s only free daily newspaper. Accredited by the New Jersey Press Association, it is the official electronic newspaper of both municipalities. As a locally owned news organization, TAPinto through its advertisers is able to publish online, objective news 24/7 at no charge. Sign up for its free daily e-News, and follow it on Facebook.