LAKE COMO, NJ — In Tuesday's election to the Lake Como Council, the three Democrats who ran unopposed tallied the following votes: incumbent Kevin Higgins, 300, Christopher D’Antuono, 293, John Carvelli, 292. While Higgins and Carvelli ran for full three-year terms, D’Antuono was elected to complete the one year left on the term to which he was appointed in January.


Higgins                               D'Antuono

Sign Up for E-News

In the board of education race, incumbents Debra Russo and Carol Hope were re-elected to three-year terms, receiving 183 and 160 votes, respectively. Challenger Michele Cartaya garnered 136 votes.


Russo                   Hope

In the Monmouth County freeholder race, Republicans Lillian Burry and Patrick Impreveduto topped Democrats Lake Como Mayor Brian Wilton and Margie Donlon.

In legislative races for District 30, which includes both Belmar and Lake Como, Republican Sen. Robert Singer won over Democratic opponent Amy Cores. In the Assembly, Republican Sean Kean and Edward “Ned” Thomson outpaced Democrats Eliot Arlo Colon and Kevin Scott.

Voters approved the two statewide public questions on library funding and the use of environmental contamination penalties for natural resources projects, as well as the Monmouth County question on raising taxes for open space acquisitions.

TAPinto Belmar/Lake Como is Belmar and Lake Como’s only free daily newspaper. Accredited by the New Jersey Press Association, it is a locally owned news organization serving the community. Sign up for our free daily e-News, and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.