LAKE COMO, NJ — Lake Como’s reorganization meeting was highlighted by the swearing in of three incumbent council members — Kevin Higgins, John Carvelli and Christopher D’Antuono.

While Higgins and Carvelli were elected on November 7 to full three-year terms, D’Antuono was voted in to complete the one year left on the term to which he was appointed in January 2017.

During the January 2 reorganization meeting, Douglas Witte was reappointed by his colleagues as council president.

Sign Up for E-News

The governing body also made a host of reappointments to municipal positions, including Belmar Police Chief Andrew Huisman as public safety director, Marguerite Schaffer as borough attorney, CME Associates as municipal engineer, Steven Schueler as municipal prosecutor, Thomas Martin as public defender, Mark Fessler as zoning officer and John Rowe as construction code official.

For a full list of appointments and other resolutions approved for the new year, visit the borough’s website at

In other business, the governing body voted on second reading to disband the South Belmar Fire Company —a formality needed since the borough has entered a shared services agreement with neighboring Belmar for fire protection services.

Also, the governing body recognized several individuals for their generosity during the holiday season. Richard and Cathy Sanborn handcrafted and donated a nativity scene for the holiday display that adorned the front lawn of Lake Como Borough Hall, and Chris Hanulak donated his time to decorate the exterior of the building at 1740 Main Street.

TAPinto Belmar/Lake Como is Belmar and Lake Como’s only free daily newspaper. Accredited by the New Jersey Press Association, it is a locally owned news organization serving the community. Our advertisers enable us to publish local online news at no charge. Sign up for our free daily e-News, and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.