LAKE COMO, NJ — Kevin Higgins received 449 votes in his unopposed bid today to be elected Lake Como’s mayor, as the rest of the Democratic slate’s council candidates tallied the following votes in their uncontested races: incumbent Virginia Kropac, 427, incumbent Christopher D’Antuono, 421, and newcomer David Gardner, 432.

While Kropac and D’Antuono ran for full three-year terms, Gardner was elected to complete the one year left on the term to which he was appointed in September. All are Democrats.

Elected to a four-year term as mayor, Higgins was appointed to the top post in August when former Mayor Brian Wilton joined Gov. Phil Murphy’s administration.  He served as a borough councilman since 2012.

Sign Up for E-News

In the Lake Como Board of Education race, incumbent Ellen Doreen Higgins was re-elected to a three-year term with 431 votes, while Patricia Gerris and Mary Louise Underhill garnered 371 and 407 votes, respectively. Appointed to the board to fill a vacancy earlier this year, Gerris was elected to a full three-year term and newcomer Mary Louise Underhill will fill a one-year unexpired term.

TAPinto Belmar/Lake Como is Belmar and Lake Como’s only free daily newspaper. Accredited by the New Jersey Press Association, it is the official electronic newspaper of both municipalities. As a locally owned news organization, TAPinto through its advertisers is able to publish online, objective news 24/7 at no charge. Sign up for its free daily e-News, and follow it on Facebook and Twitter.

Download the free TAPinto App! Click here for Android - Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening.