BELMAR/LAKE COMO, NJ — Former Belmar Councilman James Bean will seek election to the borough council as an independent candidate.

The Monmouth County Clerk’s Election Office has confirmed the filing of the independent petition by Bean, a former GOP borough council member who ran unsuccessfully against Democratic incumbent Matthew Doherty for mayor in 2014.

When Bean was elected to the governing body in 2011, replacing Republican Richard Wright, Bean quickly became known for his skirmishes with the Democratic majority over council decisions related to budgetary, operational and quality-of-life issues — an embattled relationship that was strained even more in the aftermath of Superstorm Sandy in 2012.

Sign Up for Belmar/Lake Como Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Bean could not be reached for comment on his candidacy.

In uncontested races in the June 4 primary election, voters tapped their party’s candidates to run for Belmar and Lake Como council seats in the November 5 general election. Here are the unofficial vote tallies from the Monmouth County Board of Elections.

In Belmar’s Republican primary, incumbents James McCracken and Thomas Carvelli received 97 and 90 votes, respectively. By district, the vote breakdown was as follows:

  • District 1 – McCracken, 9; Carvelli, 8; write-in candidates, 3
  • District 2 – McCracken, 9; Carvelli, 9
  • District 3 – McCracken, 10; Carvelli, 9
  • District 4 – McCracken, 18; Carvelli, 17
  • District 5 – McCracken, 16; Carvelli, 16
  • Mail-In Ballots – McCracken, 35; Carvelli, 31; write-in candidates, 1

Elected last year to complete one-year unexpired terms, both McCracken and Carvelli are looking to fill the seats for full three-year terms.

On the Democratic ticket, they will be challenged by newcomers Cheryl Russo and Maggie McBride, who garnered 138 and 140 votes, respectively, in the primary election. Here is the vote tally by district:

  • District 1 – Russo, 20; McBride, 20
  • District 2 – Russo, 19; McBride, 19; write-in candidates, 1
  • District 3 – Russo, 25; McBride, 26; write-in candidates, 7
  • District 4 – Russo, 17; McBride, 19
  • District 5 – Russo, 20; McBride, 20
  • Mail-In Ballots – Russo, 37; McBride, 36

In Lake Como, two Democratic incumbents who are running unopposed for three-year seats on the governing body received the following votes:

  • Council President Douglas Witte, who is seeking his 10th term, with 48 votes.
  • Hawley Scull, who is running a third time, with 46 votes.

No petitions were filed by Republicans.

Information from the county clerk's election division on whether any petitions by independent candidates were filed as of yesterday's deadline was not available at press time.

Due to the state’s new vote-by-mail law, the mail-in ballot count will continue up to 48 hours after close of the polls and these votes will be included in the official tally, provided the ballot is postmarked no later than primary day.

For complete election results for all seats in New Jersey, Monmouth County and on the municipal level, visit the Monmouth County Clerk’s Office website by clicking here.

TAPinto Belmar/Lake Como is Belmar and Lake Como’s only free daily newspaper. Accredited by the New Jersey Press Association, it is the official electronic newspaper of both municipalities. As a locally owned news organization, TAPinto through its advertisers is able to publish online, objective news 24/7 at no charge. Sign up for its free daily e-News, and follow it on Facebook and Twitter.

Download the free TAPinto App! Click here for Android - Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening.