TRENTON, NJ — Edward “Ned” Thomson has been elected by the New Jersey Assembly Republicans to serve as whip on its senior leadership team. The assemblyman represents the 30th Legislative District, which includes Belmar and Lake Como.

In his role as whip, Thomson (R-Monmouth/Ocean) is responsible for mobilizing the votes among GOP lawmakers on major issues when they reach the assembly floor. The Republican caucus also re-elected Jon Bramnick (R-Union) as minority leader.

“I am honored to be chosen by my colleagues to serve in this leadership role in our caucus,” said Thomson.  “I look forward to working with our Republican leader, Jon Bramnick, and my fellow lawmakers to fight the irresponsible tax and spend policies that are making our state so unaffordable.”

Sign Up for Belmar/Lake Como Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Thomson,  who joined the Assembly in 2017, said addressing the state’s financial woes and onerous tax policies are among his top priorities in the upcoming legislative term.

“New Jersey continues to lead the country in the out-migration of businesses and residents who simply can’t afford to stay here,” he said. “I look forward to going back to Trenton to fight to restore some fiscal sanity and enact policies that will improve the lives of New Jerseyans who are being taxed out of the state they love.”

Thomson and Sean T. Kean, who also represents the 30th District, handily won their re-election bids on November 12 over Democratic challengers Steven Farkas and Yasin “Jason” Celik.

Thomson is a pension actuary and served as mayor and committeeman in Wall Township where he resides. He also served as a trustee of the New Jersey Public Employees Retirement System for more than 20 years. 

Thomson assumes the whip post from Nancy Munoz (R-Union), who was elevated along with John DiMaio (R-Warren) to serve as conference leaders. Hal Wirths (R-Sussex) was elected to replace DiMaio as budget officer.

The Republicans also welcomed four new members to its caucus after successful election bids: Monmouth County Freeholder Gerry Scharfenberger, who will represent the 13th District in Monmouth County, John Catalano (R-Ocean), Brian Bergen (R-Morris), Antwan McClellan (R-Cape May), Erik Simonsen (R-Cape May) and Jean Stanfield (R-Burlington).

Heading into the next legislative session, Assembly Republicans will increase its membership to at least 28 members.

TAPinto Belmar/Lake Como is Belmar and Lake Como’s only free daily newspaper. Accredited by the New Jersey Press Association, it is the official electronic newspaper of both municipalities. As a locally owned news organization, TAPinto through its advertisers is able to publish online, objective news 24/7 at no charge. Sign up for its free daily e-News, and follow it on Facebook and Twitter.

Download the free TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening.