TRENTON, NJ — The 120 members of the 218th New Jersey Legislature took their seats yesterday, January 9, including the three lawmakers who will represent Belmar and Lake Como in District 30.

State Assemblymen Sean T. Kean and Edward “Ned” Thomson, both Republicans of Wall, were sworn in during an Organization Day ceremony of the 80-member Assembly held at the War Memorial Building, Trenton. At the same time, Sen. Robert Singer of Lakewood, a Republican, reassumed his seat during the 40-member Senate’s reorganization held nearby in the New Jersey Statehouse.

With the reorganization, the Assembly has two more Democratic members — 54 to 26 Republicans. The Senate gained one more Democrat, bringing its contingent to 25, compared to 15 GOPers.

Sign Up for E-News

The Democratic Party will have full control in Trenton when Gov.-Elect Phil Murphy takes over from two-term Republican Gov. Chris Christie on Tuesday, January 16.

TAPinto Belmar/Lake Como is Belmar and Lake Como’s only free daily newspaper. Accredited by the New Jersey Press Association, it is the official electronic newspaper of both municipalities. As a locally owned news organization, TAPinto through its advertisers is able to publish online, objective news 24/7 at no charge. Sign up for its free daily e-News, and follow it on Facebook and Twitter.