BERKELEY HEIGHTS, NJ – It may be a bit too early to be thinking of Christmas or Spring breaks, but the calendar approved by the board gives parents an opportunity to plan ahead for next school year.

The Board of Education adopted the calendar for the 2018-2019 school year on Thursday, Feb. 1. 

School will open for students on Thursday, Sept. 6, and high school graduation will be June 20, 2019.

Sign Up for E-News

Teachers will report on Tuesday, Sept. 4 and there will be staff in-service days on Sept. 4 and 5. Staff in-service days will continue on Sept. 6, and there will be early dismissal on both Sept. 6 and 7.

Schools will be closed on Monday, Sept. 10 and Sept. 19 for Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur.

There will be an early dismissal day on Columbus Day, Monday, Oct. 8, for students and an afternoon staff in-service day.

Schools will be closed for the NJEA Convention on Thursday and Friday, Nov. 8 and 9. Schools will have an early dismissal on Wednesday, Nov. 21, and be closed on Thursday and Friday Nov. 22 and 23, for Thanksgiving Recess.

Christmas break begins with an early dismissal on Friday, Dec. 21, and continues through Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2019. Schools reopen on Wednesday, Jan. 2.

Schools will be closed for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, on Monday, Jan. 21.

Mid-winter Recess begins on Friday, Feb. 15 and runs through Monday, Feb. 18.

There are no days off or early dismissals in March.

Spring Recess begins on Monday, April 15 and runs through Friday, April 19.

In May schools will be closed for Memorial Day on Monday, May 27.

There will be early dismissal for students at Columbia Middle School (CMS), on Wednesday, June 19 – which is also Promotion Day for CMS student.

There will be early dismissal at Governor Livingston High School on Thursday, June 20 – which is also graduation day.

Superintendent of Schools Judith Rattner said there were three proposed calendars and that the one presented to the board for its approval came closest to meeting all the “Guiding Principles for Calendar Development.” Those principals include:

·         Starting school as soon after Labor Day as practical;

·         Conducting the three PD days in the first two months of school;

·         Observing the following holidays: Federal holidays always observed by the district – Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s, President’s Day and Memorial Day;  Religious – Rosh Hashanah, (first day), Yom Kippur, Good Friday; Federal Holidays sometimes observed Columbus Day/Veteran’s Day/Martin Luther King Day;

·         Close for two days of the NJEA Convention in November;

·         Schedule Spring Break to coincide with both Easter and Passover, if possible;

·         Add an additional day, if available, to spring break;

·         Do not hold GL graduation on a Monday or Friday;

·         Build in at least four snow days.