Dear editor,

On June 26, 2014, Assemblymen Michael Carroll and Robert Auth (as primary sponsors) along with Assemblymen Jack Ciattarelli, Erik Peterson, Donna Simon, and Sean Kean (as co-sponsors) introduced to the New Jersey Assembly ACR 171 (Assembly Concurrent Resolution 171): a "Resolution applying to the Congress of the United States for the calling of an Article V Convention of States for the purpose of limiting certain powers of the federal government."

On August 11, 2014, New Jersey State senators Michael Doherty and Joseph Pennacchio (as primary sponsors) and Senator Christopher Bateman (as co-sponsor) introduced to the New Jersey Senate an identical version of that resolution: SCR 130 (Senate Concurrent Resolution 130).

Sign Up for E-News

The texts of the resolutions are posted at these web links:

The resolutions in both legislative houses now await consideration by their respective committees: the State and Local Government Committee in the Assembly and the State Government, Wagering, Tourism & Historic Preservation Committee in the Senate.

These resolutions mirror others being brought forward in every state house throughout the country by supporters of the national initiative for a convention of the states as provided by Article V of the Constitution of the United States.  The propose of the convention is to propose amendments to the Constitution that would restore power to the people through their states while returning the scope and power of the federal government to their original and proper limitations.

Anyone concerned about the future of our nation... its exploding debt and its feckless congress, its proliferation of stifling regulations from an ever increasing host of unrestrained bureaucratic agencies, and its ever more autocratic presidency... should learn more about the urgent need for an Article V convention.

Everything needed to understand and support the convention can be found at

Learn more about the convention of states and ask our New Jersey state legislative representatives to support the adoption of ACR171 and SCR130.  All the legislators along with their respective districts and committee memberships can be found at

Robert Cirasa
Westfield, New Jersey
(NJ legislative district 21)