Press Releases

Leaders Honored at Union County GOP Lincoln Reception: Former Senator, Christie Chief of Staff, Richard Bagger and Others

Credits: TAP Staff
The Republican Committee of Union County is holding its annual "Lincoln Day Reception" in honor of one of America's greatest Presidents this Thursday, February 21 from 6pm to 8pm at L'Affaire in Mountainside.  The Committee is honoring several individuals for their service to the Republican party from Union County. 
The Co-"Elizabeth Cox Volunteers of the Year" are Summit GOP Chairwoman Lisa Allen and Elizabeth Baamonde, the Chair of the Union County Young Republicans, based in large part upon their leadership in party building and hosting of campaign training programs.  This award honors the memory of Elizabeth Cox, former Summit GOP Chairwoman, Assemblywoman, Republican volunteer and women's rights activist.
The "Bob Franks Elected Official of the Year" is Berkeley Heights Mayor Joseph Bruno for his leadership in raising awareness of the fiscal irresponsibility and mismanagement of Union County government by leading a secession movement as well as his close personal contact with residents during Superstorm Sandy, including hosting dinners at Town Hall for displaced residents.  The Bob Franks award honors the memory and service of long-time Union County resident Bob Franks, who served as a Representative to the U.S. Congress, Assemblyman and State Republican Chairman.
The "Martin Luther King Jr. Courage Award" will be presented to Rahway GOP Vice Chairman and 2012 Republican National Committee Delegate Ronald Perry, for his leadership in the African-American community as to Republican principles and ideals.

The "Abraham Lincoln Leadership Award," which honors a Union County Republican who has dedicated his life to public service, will be presented to Richard H. Bagger, former Westfield Mayor, Assemblyman, State Senator and Chief of Staff to Governor Chris Christie.
For more information, call 908-789-0200 or e-mail  Tickets are $75, checks may be made payable to "RCUC" and may be purchased at the door.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

Berkeley Heights

Free Public Panel Will Explore Sexual Assault and Consent

April 20, 2018

The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders invites members of the public to attend a panel discussion on sexual assault and consent on Wednesday, April 25 at 2:00 p.m. in Room N-4 at Union County College, 1033 Springfield Avenue in Cranford. The panel will feature a question and answer session.

The panel discussion is intended to raise awareness about sexual assault and consent in ...

Annual Fishing Derby Returns to Oakwood Park on Saturday, April 28

Mark your calendars!  The annual Fishing Derby returns to Oakwood Park Saturday, April 28th, rain or shine, from 8:00 – 11:00am.  Co-sponsored by New Providence P.B.A. Local #132 and New Providence Recreation, this family favorite event is one of the borough’s “signs of spring”!

Bring your rod, reel & bait to fish for trout of varying sizes stocked in ...

Free Living History Event Showcases World War I Centennial

The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders invites residents and visitors to experience battlefield life as a World War I American Salvation Army volunteer, featuring Ms. Laurie MacDonald-Gaulke, actress and storyteller, in a special free presentation of “Doughnuts for Doughboys: A Salvation Army Lassie in France.”

Doughnuts for Doughboys takes place on Tuesday, April 25 at ...

Thank You, St. Joseph's Volunteers

April 16, 2018

Thank You from St. Joseph Social Service Center

In recognition of National Volunteer Week, we would like to express our gratitude to the countless volunteers that serve the poor and homeless at St. Joseph Social Service Center in Elizabeth (  Whether you make a sandwich, collect toiletries, tutor in the job program, make soup, wrap Christmas gifts, donate food, ...

New Providence Borough Council to Cultivate Relationships with County Officials

April 12, 2018

NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ – Councilman Robert Robinson touted the importance of personal relationships with Union County representatives at the Monday, April 9 council meeting.

Union County Freeholders Angel Estrada and Bette Jane Kowalski attended the Street Smart campaign kick-off event prior to the meeting providing the council members with the opportunity to chat face-to-face with the two ...

Chatham Township Committee Unanimously Adopts Ordinance to Ban Marijuana Retail Sales; Cannabis Advocates Disagree

April 13, 2018

CHATHAM, NJ - Chatham Township Mayor Curt Ritter began the new year by pledging to oppose Gov. Phil Murphy's plan to legalize the recreational use of marijuana and Thursday night he followed through by voting to adopt an ordinance that prohibits "marijuana cultivation, production testing, manufacturing facilities and retail stores' in the township.

The Chatham Township Committee ...

Upcoming Events


Sat, April 21, 11:00 AM

Our Lady of Peace , New Providence

Our Lady of the Peace Church Holds Healing & ...

Sun, April 22, 1:00 PM

17 Kent Place Boulevard, Summit

Self-Care Event

Health & Wellness

Sun, April 22, 1:00 PM

17 Kent Place Boulevard, Summit

Self-Care Event

Health & Wellness

Sun, April 22, 1:00 PM

Miller-Cory House Museum, Westfield

Sheep to Shawl Festival


Sun, April 22, 1:00 PM

Miller-Cory House Museum, Westfield

Sheep to Shawl Festival

Education Other

Sun, April 22, 2:00 PM

New Providence Memorial Library, New Providence

Celebrate National Poetry Month @NPML

Arts & Entertainment