UNION COUNTY, NJ -- Union County Commissioner (formerly called Freeholder) Chair Al Mirabella, who also serves as the Scotch Plains Township Manager, is set to continue a second year in a row as Chair when County government hold its annual reorganization on Sunday, January 3rd, according to a county press release issued on Dec. 24. 

The installation ceremony and the reorg meeting will be held in person beginning at 12:00 Noon at the steps of the Union County Courthouse and will convene virtually due to COVID-19 pandemic so that the public may participate. Both the installation ceremony and the reorganizational meeting will be broadcast live on the County’s Facebook page.

Mirabella, a resident of Fanwood, returns as Chair. Rebecca Williams, a resident of Plainfield, is expected to be Vice Chair. Commissioners Angela R. Garretson (Hillside) and Christopher Hudak (Linden) will be sworn in for new terms, while Loudes Leon of Elizabeth take the oath of office as Commissioner for the first time. County Clerk Joanne Rajoppi and County Sheriff Peter Corvelli, who both easily won reelection, will be sworn in to new terms.

The Commissioners will also vote to fill numerous positions on county standing committees, advisory boards and to adopt the board’s 2021 schedule and more.