Clean all the snow off your car after yesterday's storm? If you hit the road, New Jersey state law says your car must be clean of snow before driving. Failure to do so can result in a fine.

The law stems from Washington Township resident Cathy Eastman, who lost her husband 21 years ago. While he was driving on Rt. 17 in Paramus, a chunk of ice flew off of a truck, crashed through the windshield of Michael Eastman's car while he was driving home and killed him. He was 45.

Cathy worked with then State Assemblyman Bill Pascrell to get a law passed that imposes $500 to $1,500 fines against drivers whose rooftop snow and ice cause damage or injury.

Furthermore, she worked to get an additional measure passed in 2001 to require drivers to fully clear their cars within 24 hours of snowfall before driving or face fines of $25 to $75.