BLOOMFIELD, NJ – Ten candidates were vying for four positions on the Bloomfield Board of Education.  When the dust settled late Tuesday evening, the tabulations saw Michael Heller, Ralph Walker, Shane Berger and Ben Morse emerge victorious in decisive fashion.

Eight candidates were jockeying for the three, 3-year term seats.  Heller was first at 4,821 votes, followed by Walker 3,977 and Berger 3,449.

Rounding out the field were Jody Polidoro 3,064, Dick Wolfe 2,952, Julien Maculan 2,681, Dan Anderson 1,644 and Laura Izurieta 1,597.

Sign Up for E-News

A total of 24,236 votes were cast in the 3-year term election, including 51 write-ins, with 32 of 35 districts (92%) reporting as of Wednesday afternoon.

Two candidates ran for the 1-year term seat, as Morse defeated Bryan Crowley 3,265 to 2,341. 

5,618 votes were cast in the 1-year term race, including 12 write-ins, with the same 92% of districts reporting.

Provisional, emergency and absentee ballots are not included because those numbers will come from Essex County within the next few days.