BLOOMFIELD, NJ-- A standing room only crowd was on hand this evening for the first ever Bloomfield Fire Department Awards Ceremony, held in the Bloomfield Town Hall Council Chambers.  Awards were given to fire department members for outstanding performance on both medical calls and fire calls. 

In addition to the members receiving awards and their family and friends, also in attendance was Mayor Michael Venezia, Council members Nicholas Joanow, Richard Rockwell and Jenny Mundell, New Jersey State Fire Marshall Rich Mikutsky and NJ State FMBA President Eddie Donnelly.   

The ceremony opened with the presentation of colors by the Bloomfield Fire Department Honor Guard.  The National Anthem was performed by Bloomfield High School student Skylar Canabal and Jack McGarry played Amazing Grace on the Bagpipes.Reverend Vincent Scuttaro of the Agape Worship Center performed the invocation and benediction. Fire Captain Joseph Coletta emceed the event.

Sign Up for Bloomfield Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

In addition to the awards, the second annual Firefighter of the Year award was presented to Captain Richard Rannou.  The 19 year department veteran was responsible for building by hand a safety and survival maze for use by members of the department.  He also took the lead in specking out the department's two new fire apparatus and voluntarily attended numerous training seminars throughout the year. His commitment to the department was commended by Chief Louis Venezia.

The awards given out were as follows:

Group 3, Engine 2 EMS Award

Captain David Duda, FF Jeffrey DeJessie, FF Michael Searls

CPR save after medics began pronouncing victim as deceased

Group 2 Engine 3 EMS Award

Captain Michael Bevins, FF Walter Coffey, FF Chris Caldarella 

CPR save in a home after finding patient with no pulse

Group 2 Truck 1 Engine 1 DC2 EMS Award

Deputy Chief Robert Barra

Captain Joseph Coletta, FF Ronald Fusaro, FF Kevin Hilaire

Captain Joseph Critchley, FF Jeffrey Roberts, FF Ronald Briceno

Auto Accident as a result of heart attack.  CPR save

Group 4, Engine 3 EMS Award

Captain James McCarthy, FF Adam Miick, FF Sean Lind

Unconscious female not breathing.  The crew inserted an oral airway and used a bag valve mask to provide lifesaving breathing techniques

Group 4, Engine 4 EMS Award

Captain Robert Griffin, FF Thomas Laiacona, FF Oscar Morales

Unconscious woman in a doctors office.  Performed 2-3 rounds of CPR prior to arrival of EMS.  The patient survived.

Group 4 Fire Award-73 Washington Street 

DC Steve Motzer, DC Brian McDade, FO Gennaro Ilaria, Captain Frank Durantino, FF Daren McCoy, FF Oscar Morales, FF William Todaro, A/O Kevin Villegas, FF Jeffrey Roberts, FF Kevin Hilaire, Captain James McCarthy, FF Adam Miick, FF Sean Lind, A/O Thomas Laiacona, FF Michael Nicosia, FF Stephen Cowen

Upon arrival, crews were faced with a top floor fire blowing out the front windows.  There were still numerous occupants that needed to be evacuated from the apartments.  Crews worked tirelessly to search the building and extinguish the fast moving fire which had a significant head start prior to fire crews arriving.