BLOOMFIELD, NJ-- What began as a spring with good weather and quality practice time has quickly turned into a season of uneasiness for the Bloomfield High baseball team.

That uneasiness, of course, extends throughout the state, and for that matter, the nation, as Coronavirus keeps an uneasy country pensive.

Locally, the Bengals are hopeful of playing ball sometime this spring, according to head coach Mike Policastro.

Sign Up for Bloomfield Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

"We're all hoping the kids can get a chance to play," said Policastro. "On the field, we're trying to replace 15 seniors from last year's team. We've moved up a level to the (Super Essex Conference's) American Division, and we'll be up against a tough schedule."

Bloomfield finished 20-9 last season, including an 11-1 record in the SEC's Liberty Division. 

The coaching staff features Joe Azzolino, Mike Aldiero, Sean Downey and Mike Carter, Jr. The Bengals will have 47 players on the roster, encompassing three levels, varsity, junior varsity and freshman. 

"We were trying to get a good look at our pitching staff," said Policastro ."We lost some quality arms from last year and I liked what I was seeing this year, in early practices. We have a great group of kids and a nice mix between our seniors and younger guys. I just hope we can play some games before the end of the school year."

Vin Torrisi, a four-year starter, is expected to be a key player for the 2020 Bengals. Torrisi will play collegiate ball at William Paterson, starting this fall.

"Our middle infield is young, but experienced," said Policastro. "We still have to replace the corner (infielders)."

The other seniors include Jason Torres, Christian Parisi, Jordan Mosley, Brandon Estelle, Hilbert Nina DeLeon, Joe Czerepusko and Evan Carr. 

The juniors who made the varsity roster are Jordan Daniels, Andre Dean, Chris Kopacz, Jacob Munoz, Brandon Wojak, Tyler Batori and Evan Kaplan. 

Nico Ong, Liam Hempstead, Logan Kot, Jackson Laub and Chas Abplanalp are the sophomores while two freshmen, Keithdem Perez and Chris Sanchez have made the varsity team.

The junior varsity players include Justin Costomiris, Justin Nunez, Isaiah Ortiz, Isaiah Quinones, Jarnel Rancy, Chris Santiago, Dylan Stein, Alexandro Velez, Anthony Alves and Ethan Kielb. 

The freshmen are Daniel Murawinski, Michael Rosamilia, Nathanel Maldonado, Jake Sullivan, AJ Soriano, Brandon Piacenza, Nicholas Polidoro, Luis Suriel, Tyler Bell, Anthony Dittrich, Nicholas Haag, Jeyden Baez, Andrew Puntiel and Ethan Shivel.