RARITAN, NJ - Det. Christopher Wren, of the Raritan Police Department, will receive the Traffic Safety Specialist, Level-1 Leadership Award at the New Jersey Police Traffic Officers Association State Meeting, in Bordentown, Dec. 4.

The Traffic Safety Specialist program, according to a release, was regionally established in Maryland to recognize police officers with notable experience, education, training and proficiency in Highway Safety Enforcement methods and procedures. Eligibility, the release said, involves officers submitting documentation on employment, completion of appropriate certifications and permission of the department.

The release said that level 1 requirements include three years of independent patrol experience, speed detection device certification, standard field sobriety certification and 30 points of earned electives.

Sign Up for Bridgewater/Raritan Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The program, the release said, was piloted in 2016 through the Ocean County Police Traffic Officers Association, and certification serves as verification for courtroom testimony.

A total of 18 undergraduate or six graduate credits are awarded by Fairleigh Dickinson University, and over 200 awards have been granted in New Jersey, the release said.

Officers are also qualifying for the level two designation that involves conducting a technical study and improving traffic safety conditions in the sponsoring community.