BRIDGEWATER, NJ - Zoned Sports Academy, on Kearney Street, celebrated a number of its seniors with the presentation of its 14th Annual Zoned Scholarship Awards.

The ceremony was held virtually, honoring 17 winners in a number of different schools, who they had surprised at their homes and practices with checks.

“This year (was) our first virtual ceremony, but what we have learned over the years is that anything is possible, and where there is a will, there is a way,” said Zoned owner Duke Baxter.

Sign Up for Bridgewater/Raritan Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Since 2007, Baxter said, they have awarded $161,000 in scholarships, which are awarded to student-athletes in recognition of athletic accomplishments, educational success and work within their communities.

The scholarships recognize athletes who have succeeded in more than baseball and softball, and recognize them as true champions of their schools, homes and communities.

“These scholarships provide a way for us at Zoned to recognize and give back to these young role models, as well as for those who will follow in their footsteps in years to come,” Baxter said.

Honored from Bridgewater-Raritan High School were:

  • Madison Capetta, who received a $500 scholarship, and will attend Salve Regina University.
  • Jake Olson, who received a $500 scholarship, and will attend Rowan University.
  • Justin Sinibaldi, who received a $1,125 scholarship, and will attend Rutgers University.

Also honored with scholarships were Erika Mack, of Morris County School of Technology; Justina Benvenuto, of Union Catholic Regional High School; Nadell Booker, of Franklin High School; Michael Cacioppo, of Johnathan Dayton High School; Julianna Green, of Middletown South; Ryan Hanna, of Franklin High School; Will Hellings, of Summit High School; Samantha Hess, of Holy Angels; Allison LaRochelle, of St. Thomas Aquinas High School; Emily Orr, of Hillsborough High School; Brittany Rifenburg, of Spotswood High School; Nate Scott, of New Providence High School; Liam Smith, of Hillsborough High School; and Maddie Wilson, of Montgomery High School.