CAMDEN, NJ -- The Battleship New Jersey Museum and Memorial will hold its annual Camden Resident Student Scholarship Awards Ceremony on Friday at 6 p.m.

“We are thrilled to be providing these exceptional students assistance as they move forward in their academic careers,” said Dennis Levitt, member of the Board of Trustees for the Battleship New Jersey. “These Camden students have been recommended by their teachers for their scholastic achievements and we are thrilled to recognize them."

The ship's CEO Phil Rowan will present the awards to nine Camden resident students. There's one from each of the city's seven high schools, one student attending Camden County College and another attending Rutgers University-Camden. 

Here's a list of the recipients and their schools.

  • Lawrence D. Custis - Creative Arts Morgan Village Academy
  • Selena Gibson - Camden Big Picture Learning Academy
  • Lesslie Montiel - Camden Academy Charter School
  • Madizon  Martinez - Dr. Charles Brimm Medical Arts High School
  • Debani Mercado - Woodrow Wilson High School 
  • Said A.  Munoz - Rutgers University Camden
  • Jessica Nguyen - Camden Catholic High School
  • Natalia Ortiz-Paulino - Woodrow Wilson High School
  • Joslyn Thompson - Camden County College