Letters to the Editor

Chatham Borough Council Endorses Bruce Harris



The members of the Borough Council heartily endorse Bruce Harris as Chatham’s next Mayor. 

The Council has accomplished a great deal in the last three years and Bruce is the longest tenured Council Member who has been a leader in all the accomplishments. In the time we’ve served with Bruce, we’ve seen a polished leader who sees the “big picture” but who never loses sight of the detail needed to implement “big picture” goals and objectives.  Bruce is a hard working leader who provides good advice to the Council and has contributed to our government moving more swiftly and transparently.  For example, Bruce initiated the Council’s establishment of annual goals and objectives for the Borough and he also pushed for greater transparency of Council activities through TV broadcasts and the Chatham Borough website.  Bruce also has the ability to translate complicated, arcane subjects, such as Zoning and the Budget and make them easily understandable to the public whom he has served for nearly a decade.  Bruce can demonstrate solid accomplishments and has the leadership ability needed in our current economic hard times.  The Council is proud to have kept our Borough strong.

Sign Up for E-News

Bruce, along with the rest of the Council’s Finance Committee (Jim Collander and Jim Lonergan) has worked with the Administrator and CFO to make necessary cuts and with the Council’s Shared Services Committee, identify and evaluate shared services options.  Bruce negotiated the joint court agreement.  Bruce, Jim Collander and Jim Lonergan worked with the Administrator and emergency services personnel on implementing the transition to County dispatch.  Bruce worked with the Administrator and consultant on the new waste disposal and recycling requests for proposals.  He was the champion of the weekly single-stream recycling system, which has been a huge success. 

Over the past two years, the Council has been a strong and effective team and we believe Bruce Harris will be a Mayor who will make Chatham Borough even greater.  We urge you to support him in this election.


Council President James Lonergan

Council Member James Collander

Council Member John Holman

Council Member Len Resto

Council Member Victoria Fife

The opinions expressed herein are the writer's alone, and do not reflect the opinions of TAPinto.net or anyone who works for TAPinto.net. TAPinto.net is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the writer. Click here to submit a Letter to the Editor.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events


Fri, April 27, 2:00 PM

Madison Area YMCA - Kroll Conference Room, Madison

Blood Drive

Giving Back Health & Wellness Other

Sun, May 20, 2:00 PM

Chatham Township Municipal Building, Chatham

A Tour of Chatham Township and Green Village

Arts & Entertainment

A Week at the Library of The Chathams Monday, April 9 – Sunday, April 15, 2018


The program will be held on Thursdays, May 3 through June 21 – 1:30 to 2:30 pm

Registration required

For anyone wanting to improve their English language skills, we are starting our first ever ESL program.  The program will be conducted by Language Education and Resource Network (LEARN) and volunteer tutors for 8 weeks.  Further sessions may be ...

Spending More Per Pupil Doesn’t Guarantee Additional or Enhanced Success

April 20, 2018

Dear Editor:

At the April 16th Board of Education meeting, Board member Sal Arnuk stated: “I am ashamed to see the district at the bottom of the list in per-pupil spending.”  On the contrary, Board member Arnuk should be exceedingly proud of how our Board of Education is able to consistently be ranked as the top school district in our state at the cost it currently spends per ...

Financial Planning for Recent College Graduates from Chatham Wealth Management

April 20, 2018


It’s that time of the year when many families are excitedly getting ready to attend their children’s college graduation. Where has the time gone? It feels like just yesterday that we were dropping them off for freshman year.

Well, time does pass quickly and now would be a really good time to give your graduating children some savings and investment advice. Below are a ...