Giving Back

Press Releases

Chatham Jaycees Select Tony Britt for Distinguished Service Award

Tony Britt will be the recipient of the Chatham Jaycees Distinguished Service Award Credits: TAP Chatham

CHATHAM, NJ - The Chatham Jaycees announce that their 57th annual Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Chatham resident Tony Britt, at a reception to be held in his honor at the Longhill Tavern (formerly the Meyersville Inn), 632 Meyersville Rd. in Gillette, 7 p.m. Tuesday, June 20.

The Jaycees would like to invite the community as well as all previous Distinguished Service Award recipients, and past and present Jaycees to honor Tony. For more information call Chris Lisewski at 973-635- 2428, Ext. 150 or e-mail him at

Tony, his wife Irene, daughter Alex and son Erik have lived in Chatham since 2002. When re-locating to Chatham from Toronto, Canada, Tony became a stay-at-home dad for his young children.

Sign Up for E-News

To fill his time while the kids were at school, Tony quickly began to volunteer in the community. First as a softball and soccer coach. Then expanding that role to lacrosse, field hockey and baseball. Tony’s coaching roles led to a request from the Borough that he join the Chatham Recreation Committee as a representative.

After two years on the committee, Tony became Chair of the Recreation Committee. Tony and the recreation team spearheaded the decision process that ultimately recommended the installation of turf and improvement of Lum Field, a facility enjoyed today by hundreds of Chatham residents. While Chair of Chatham Recreation, Tony conceived and ran the Chatham Recreation Spring Sports spectacular event that invited all recreation participants to enjoy a day of games, meet Devils professional hockey players and mascots from area professional sports teams, while having their photos professionally done by a sports photography firm.

A member of the Milton Avenue School and Lafayette Avenue PTO for several years, Tony helped resurrect the Milton Fun Fair which helped generate the funds for a refurbished Milton Avenue School playground. Tony became involved with the Friends of the Library Board, serving as vice president and president. He has served as a Den Leader in Pack 8 Cub Scouts and became an Assistant Scoutmaster for the past 7 years with Troop 8 Boy Scouts in Chatham Borough.

In that capacity he has been the adult lead supporting Troop 8 boy scouts in many community service activities.

Tony was the co-chair of the first Relay for Life fund-raiser in Chatham Borough that raised over $72,000 the first year and future fundraisers went on to earn hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Tony has been a member of numerous Chatham Borough committees dedicated to the betterment of the Borough. He was a member of the Mayor’s Wellness Committee, the Memorial Park and Pool Committee, the MyChatham committee involving Spring Clean, Fishawack, the Train Centennial celebrations, and the Pilgrim Pipeline Advisory committee. In addition he has served as a manager to numerous Chatham Borough Council political election campaigns.

In 2013, Tony founded the Chatham Downtown Alliance. This organization was developed to promote the Chatham downtown merchants, community and events. The Chatham Downtown Alliance conceived and promoted the annual Easter egg hunt on the lawn of Ogden Memorial Church, re-invigorated the children’s Halloween parade, promoted Small Business Saturday and developed the annual Christmas tree lighting on the grounds of the Library of the Chathams, among many other events.

Tony has been honored by Chatham Borough as a Volunteer of the Year, a past recipient of the annual Community Pride award, and has received numerous awards from Boy Scouts of America for his volunteer service.

The criteria for the Distinguished Service Award is best summed up by its motto- “Service to Humanity is the Best Work of Life.”

Tony joins a notable list of previous Distinguished Service Award recipients. The previous recipients are as follows: Ridley C. Enslow, 1961; Robert B. Aljoe, 1962; Vernon L. Rathbone, 1963; Peter W. Thomas, 1964; John D. Ryan, 1965; Carl A. Frahn, 1966; John T. Mapletoft, 1967; Robert D. Sauer, 1968; Robert M. Koch, 1969; Thomas G. McCain, 1970; Ewart V. Thomas, 1971; Richard R. Bradley, 1972; Leanna Brown, 1973; John M. Conlan, 1974; David Ramsay, 1975; Michael M. Kolba, 1976; Edna Van Sickle Budd, 1977; Edna Fleming and William Kelley, 1978; Everett “Butch” Hatton, 1979; Barbara Medina, 1980; John Davidson, 1981; Mitch Caparaso, 1982; Virginia Kent, 1983; Sandy Heise, 1984; Red Mulholland, 1985; Jim Welch, 1986; Sally Deatly, 1987; Jim Ruddy, 1988; Joseph L. Marts, 1989; William L. Swenson, Jr., 1990; Carol Nauta, 1991; Edouard “Toot” Martin, 1992; Raymond A. Finley, Jr., 1993; Margaret Keisler, 1994; Helen Fenske, 1995; Rev. Dale H. Forsman, 1996; Les Lehman, 1997; Harold “Dewey” Sheets, 1998; William M. Cooper, 1999; Barbara L. Hall, 2000; Dick Richards, 2001; Lloyd Wise, 2002; Bill Heap, 2003; Ty Compton, 2004; Jerry Medina, 2005; Richard Crater, 2006; Joe and Pat Rush, 2007; Dick Plambeck, 2008; Cordelia "Cory" O. Fuller, 2009; Bob Huntington, 2010; the founders of the Chatham Athletic Foundation, 2011; Alice Lundt, 2012; Marty Sechehay, 2013; JoAnn and David Babbitt, 2014; Peter S. Glogolich, 2015; and Christine and John Grobert, 2016.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


A Week at the Library of The Chathams Monday, February 19 – Sunday, February 25, 2018


By Galina Natenzon

Friends of the Library are continuing their book collection in preparation for Annual Book Sale.  Kids are off from school on Monday for Presidents’ Day – bring them to the library!  We have plenty for them to do.  For adults, Professor Licklider’s second lecture on North Korea will take place on Tuesday.  The ...

Imagine a Chatham Toboggan Ride from the Top of Fairmount Avenue to Main Street

Did you know….
there was a time when Chatham kids could ice skate from downtown Chatham all the way to Florham Park? And that a toboggan ride could last from the top of Fairmount Avenue down to Main Street and beyond?

Those were the days!

This was back in the early to mid-1900s. The Passaic River meandered through grassy meadows and woods on the north side of Chatham. The marshy ...


February 20, 2018

To the Editor,

I told my daughter I needed to write about gun violence. Know what she told me? “Mom, be sure you’re not too polarizing. People won’t listen.” She’s right. At age eleven she’s figured out that we adults need to be reminded how to speak to one another in order to fix a problem. But I have hope and belief that we can fix that discourse in our ...


AtlantiCast: Episode 12

On this week’s episode of AtlantiCast, decade of excellence makes headlines, as Atlantic Health’s place on Fortune Magazine’s 100 Best Companies to Work For List leads off the newest episode of AtlantiCast. Also on this week’s show, check out the newest “hybrid” operating room at Morristown Medical Center and find out how Atlantic Health is helping local ...

Adults Who Interact With Teens Offered Free Youth Mental Health First Aid Training

February 23, 2018

With teenage suicide rates on an upswing, a barrage of tragedies in the news, and the heightened pressures of adolescence in a media-frenzied world, it’s more important than ever for caring adults to know how to intervene effectively.

Morris County again this year is funding Youth Mental Health First Aid training through NewBridge Services for adults who regularly interact with children ...